Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


ISLAMABAD, May 4 Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani formed on Tuesday a nine-member commission to oversee the process of implementation of the 18th Amendment.

PPP Senator Raza Rabbani, who was the head of the 26-member Parliamentary Committee on Constitutional Reforms, will head the commission, says an official handout.

The members of the commission are Ishaq Dar of PML-N; Afrasiab Khattak of ANP; Rahmatullah Kakar of JUI-F; Aftab Sherpao of PPP-S; Syed Naveed Qamar of PPP; Dr Farooq Sattar of MQM; Dr Abdul Malik of NP and Abdul Razzaq Thahim of PML-F.

The Implementation Commission has been empowered to co-opt experts, serving or retired members of the civil service or any other person for a specified purpose and time on such terms and conditions as the commission may deem fit, with prior approval of the federal government.

The commission shall have powers to issue such directions, orders, undertake proceedings or require the making of amendments to regulations, enactments, notifications, rules or orders as may be necessary to further the objectives of clause 8 of Article 270(AA) of the Constitution and in this regard require the attendance of any official of the federal or provincial governments or the divisions or the attached departments/offices.

The commission is required to submit biannual reports to parliament on the progress of implementation of its objectives.