Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience



KARACHI: Today was the last day for scrutinisation of the nomination of papers filed by the candidates of political parties from all over Pakistan during which several were rejected, DawnNews reported.

Former Prime Minister Raja Pervez Ashraf’s candidacy from Rawalpindi’s NA-51 was rejected over grounds of alleged misuse of funds as well as favouritism. While the papers of PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif from the constituency of NA-120 (Lahore) was accepted.

Details for other candidates are as follows:

  • Imtiaz Safdar Warraich's (PPP) for NA-98 (Gujranwala) was rejected.
  • Mian Manzoor Ahmad Wattoo's (PPP) for NA-146, NA-147 (Okara) were accepted.
  • Shahbaz Sharif's (PML-N) for NA-129 (Lahore) was accepted.
  • Khawaja Asif's (PML-N) for NA-110 (Sialkot) was accepted.
  • Sanaullah Jat's (PTI) for PP-169 (Sheikhupura) was accepted.
  • Hamza Shahbaz Sharif's (PML-N) for NA-119  (Lahore) was accepted.
  • Ayesha Ahad Malik's (MQM) for NA-119  (Lahore) was accepted.
  • Mirza Nasir Baig's (PPP) for NA-154 (Lodhran) was accepted.
  • Shabbir Ahmed Qaim Khani's (MQM) for NA-223 (Tando Allahyar), PS 51 (Hyderabad) were accepted.
  • Dr. Fehmida Mirza's (PPP) for NA-255 (Karachi) was accepted.
  • Bibi Yasmeen Shah (PML-Q) for NA-255 (Karachi) was accepted.
  • Sardar Zulfiqar Khosa's (PML-N) for NA-172 (Dera Ghazi Khan) was accepted.
  • Sardar Dost Khosa's (PML-N) for PP-243 (Dera Ghazi Khan) was accepted.
  • Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan’s (PML-N) for NA-52 (Rawalpindi) was accepted.
  • Abrar-ul-Haq’s (PTI) for NA-125 (Lahore) was accepted.
  • Hina Rabbani Khar’s (PPP) for NA-177 (Muzaffargarh) was accepted.
  • Ghulam Mustafa Khar’s (PPP) for NA-176 (Muzaffargarh) was accepted.