Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Issuance of nomination forms for Sindh seats in full swing

March 27, 2013

HYDERABAD, March 26: About 900 nomination forms were obtained by aspirants across the province, excluding Larkana, for different seats of National Assembly and provincial assemblies on Tuesday.

In Hyderabad, 16 candidates belonging to the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) submitted their nomination forms whereas 195 candidates from different backgrounds obtained papers in Hyderabad, Matiari and Tando Mohammad Khan districts.

Makhdoom Amin Fahim, president of the PPP Parliamentarians (PPP-P), obtained a form for NA-218.

Forty-two candidates obtained forms for NA-219, 11 for NA-220, 16 for NA-221, 10 for PS-45, 16 for PS-46, 18 for PS-47 and 26 for PS-50.

Prominent among those who obtained forms are Abdul Sami Farooqui and Qari Abdul Rasheed Awan for NA-219; Maulana Farooq Azad of Muttahida Deeni Mahaz and JUP president Sahibzada Abul Khair Zubair and Nazim Arain for NA-220; Dr Rajab Memon and Dr Hameed Memon of STP, PML-N’s Hanif Siddiqui, Sindh United Party’s Dodo Mahri and Qari Khurshid Alam of the JUP for NA-221.

In Tando Mohammad Khan, 22 candidates obtained forms. Prominent among them are Ejaz Nabi Shah of PPP, Syed Zulfikar Shah (independent) and Mir Hyder Talpur of PTI.

In Matiari, 34 candidates obtained forms. Makhdoom Amin Fahim, Taimor Shah and Syed Shah Mohammad Shah of SUP were among the candidates who received forms for NA-218.

In Sanghar, nomination forms for NA 234, 235 and 236 have so far been obtained from the returning officers.

According to the data, 210 forms have been obtained for NA 234 Sanghar-1, PS-78 Sanghar and PS-79 Sinjhoro.

The aspirants include Haji Khuda Bux Rajar, ex-MNA and federal minister Pirzada Yasir, ex-MPA Ali Ghulam Nizamani, ex-adviser Abid Farooque, ex-MNA and MPA Haji Pir Bux Junejo, Faqir Ismail Mahar and Anil Gul Junejo.

For NA-235 Khipro, PS-80 Khipro and PS-81 Jam Nawaz Ali, about 100 nomination forms were issued.

The notables among those who received forms are: Qazi Shams Din Rajar, ex-MPA Suhrab Khan Marri and ex-taluka nazim Khuda Bux Dars.

About 200 nomination forms were taken for NA-236 Shahdadpur, PS-82 Shahdadpur and PS-82 Tando Adam. Prominent among candidates receiving forms are: ex-MNA Roshan Din Junejo, ex-MPA and senator Fida Hussain Dero, Shahid Khan Thaheem and ex-adviser to CM Imamudin Shouqeen and known social activist Suleman G Abro.

In Umerkot, 18 nomination forms were obtained for NA-228 while 51 for PS-68 (Samaro), PS-69 (Pithoro) and PS-70 (Umerkot).

Prominent candidates receiving forms include: Makhdoom Zain Qureshi, son of Makhdoom Shah Mehmood Qureshi of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, former MNA Nawab Muhammad Yusuf Talpur of the PPP, Nawab Taimur Talpur of the PPP, Pir Taj Hussain Shah Jeelani of like-minded group led by Arbab Ghulam Rahim and chieftain of Khaskheli clan Ghulam Mustafa Khaskheli.

In Khairpur, a total of 47 candidates obtained nomination forms for seat NA-216 Khairpur-II constituency, 23 for PS-31 Khairpur-III and 52 for PS-33 Khairpur-V.

The candidates who received nomination forms for NA-216 Khairpur-II included Syed Javed Ali Shah Jillani (PPP-P), Pir Syed Fazul Hussain Shah Jillani (PPP-P) and Sajid Ali Bhanbhan.

For PS-31 Khairpur-III the candidates who received nomination forms included Syed Sadaruddin Shah (PML-F), Sharafuddin Rajpar and Bakht Ali Heesbani (PPP-P). For PS-33 Khairpur-V the candidates who received nomination forms included Niaz Hussain Shah Jillani (PML-F), Allah Warayo Soomro (PML-N), Javed Ali Shah Jillani (PPPP), Syed Sadaruddin Shah (PML-F) and others.

A total of 18 candidates received nomination forms for NA-215 Khairpur-I. They include Maulana Mir Mohammad (JUI-F), Syed Javed Ali Shah Jillani (PPP-P), Syed Sadarudin Shah Rashdi (PML-F), Syed Ghous Ali Shah (PML-N) and Munawar Ali Wassan (PPP-P).

Twenty nomination forms were issued for the seat PS-29 Khairpur-I including Asadullah Janwari (MQM), Tahir Imtiaz Phulpoto (PML-F), Syed Ghous Ali Shah (PML-N), Syed Nawaz Ali Shah (PML-N), Mubeen Ahmed and Sher Mohammad (both Independent) and others. For PS-32 Khairpur-IV, 21 candidates obtained nomination forms. They include Syed Sadar-u-din Shah Rashdi (PML-F), Syed Ismail Shah (PML-F), Mohammad Mubeen Jumani (PPP), Abdul Majeed Shaikh (PML-N), Syed Niaz Hussain Shah (PML-F) and others. For the constituency NA-217 Khairpur-III, total 70 nomination forms were issued. For PS 30 Khairpur-II, total 8 forms were issued whereas for PS 34 Khairpur-VI total 50 forms were issued. These are the figures as of 25th March 2013.

In Naushahro Feroze, around 352 nomination forms for two seats of NA and five seats of PA were obtained on Tuesday.

Forty-three candidates collected nomination forms for NA-211 and 57 for NA-212.

Twenty-eight forms were collected for PA-19, 50 for PA-20, 73 for PA-21, 58 for PA-22 and 43 forms for PA-23.

The candidates receiving forms for NA-211 include NPP chairman Ghulam Murtaza Khan Jatoi, son of former caretaker prime minister Ghulam Mustafa Khan Jatoi, Ghulam Rasool alias Rais Aqib Khan Jatoi (NPP), Zulfiqat Ali Behan of PPPP, Aftab Ali Rajper and Abdul Haq Bhurt of PPPP.

Candidates collecting forms for NA-212 include Syed Allahendo Shah alias Syed Zaffar Ali Shah (PML-N), Syed Abrar Ali Shah (NPP), Syed Sarfaraz Ali Shah (PPPP), Maqsood Ahmed Khuskh (PPPP), Syed Asghar Ali Shah (PPPP), Masroor Ahmed Khan Jatoi and Rais Aqib Khan Jatoi of (NPP).

For PA-19, 25 forms were collected by candidates including Ghulam Rasool alias Aqib Khan Jatoi (NPP), Mumtaz Ali Chandio (PPPP), Dr Abdul Sattar Rajper (PPPP), Pir Sikander Ali Shaerwardi Azad.

For PS-21, total 73 forms were collected by candidates including Syed Abrar Ali Shah (NPP), Syed Zuhaib Shah (PML-N), Syed Aftab Ali Shah (independent), Syed Sarfaraz Ali Shah and Maqsood Ahmed Khuskh.

In Larkana, aspirants of different political parties and alliances obtained nomination papers to contest for National and Provincial Assembly seats in Larkana and Qambar-Shahdadkot districts on Tuesday.

Former Sindh minister for food Mir Nadir Ali Magsi, his brother former MNA Mir Aamir Ali Magsi and Chandio tribe chieftain Sardar Khan Chandio obtained papers for NA-206 and PS-39 (Qambar) and PS-42 (Warah).

For PS-42 (Warah), Sardar Khan Chandio, Burhan Khan Chandio, Rehan Khan Chandio, Nadir Magsi, Aamir Magsi, Shahnawaz Chandio, Manzoor Chandio and Riazuddin Abro got nomination papers on Tuesday.

Prominent TV anchor Ms Mehtab Akbar Rashdi and her son Rafi Rashdi got nomination papers for NA-204 (Larkana-I), PS-38 (Mirokhan) and PS-41 (Dokri). They are affiliated with Pakistan Muslim League-Functional.

JUI-F Sindh chapter general secretary Dr Khalid Mehmood Soomro got forms for NA-204, NA-207 and PS-36 (Larkana city) while his son Rashid Mehmood Soomro and other JUI-F leaders obtained forms to contest from PS-35, PS-36, PS-38 and NA-204 and NA-207.Advocate Imdad Mashori of Larkana alliance obtained form to contest from NA-204 while Nazir Shaikh former Taluka Nazim Larkana( who left the PPP a couple of days ago and joined PML-F) and Aijaz Junejo former Taluka Nazim Dokri also obtained nomination forms for PS-36 and PS-41(Dokri).

In Mirpurkhas, total eight nomination forms were submitted by candidates of the MQM for NA-226 and PS-64 on Tuesday. A total of 66 nomination forms were issued for two NA and four PA seats on Tuesday.

Twelve forms were issued for NA-226, 13 for NA-227, 11 for PS-64, eight for PS-65, 13 for PS-66 and nine nomination forms were issued for PS-67.