LAHORE, March 22: The Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaaf Election Commission announced party’s national-level intra-party election results on Friday with Makhdoom Javed Hashmi elected party president and Pervaiz Khattak from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa secretary-general. Munazza Hassan was elected as the PTI Women Wing president.

Of 208 votes polled, Javed Hashmi secured 177 votes, while his rival Omar Sarfraz Cheema and Dr Sania Nazir Chaudhry obtained 24 and two votes, respectively. Mr Cheema has also faced the wrath of party leaders, including Imran Khan, for raising objection against Mr Hashmi on the polling day.

Pervaiz Khattak has defeated Dr Arif Alvi and Rashid Ali Khan for secretary-general seat with 104 votes. Dr Alvi and Mr Khan obtained 88 and nine votes, respectively.

The PTI Women Wing president seat witnessed a close fight between Munazza Hassan and Ayla Malik, wherein former emerged as winner with 96 votes. Ms Malik got 90 votes. The seat also witnessed a controversy as the Election Commission rejected nomination papers filed by veteran party member Fauzia Kasuri on the pretext of holding dual nationality.

Talking to Dawn, PTI Punjab Election Commissioner Advocate Shadab H Jafri said Ms Munazza Hassan had filed the objection on the same day of nomination that Ms Kasuri was a dual national.

“Ms Kasuri vehemently contested the objection but the election commission decided to go by the book that no dual national could be allowed to contest elections for party positions,” he said.

Reportedly, Ms Kasuri had also tweeted on social media that she was surrendering her US passport and the elections be delayed for a couple of days.

According to results, PTI chairman Imran Khan, Vice-Chairman Shah Mahmood Qureshi, general-secretary (women wing) Nafisa Inayat Khattak, senior vice-president of KP Muhammad Azam Swati, SVP Balochistan Nazar Muhammad advocate, SVP (general) Amir Mahmood Kiyani, VP (male) Punjab Malik Amin Aslam Khan, VP (male) Sindh Saif-ur-Rehman, VP (female) Balochistan Asma Qadir, deputy secretary-general (Punjab) Umer Farooq Dar, deputy secretary-general (KP) Dr Raja Amir Zaman, secretary health Dr Muhammad Hanif and secretary defence affairs were elected unopposed.

Those who were elected after elections were: PTI Youth Wing president Ali Abbas Bukhari, Labour Wing president Muhammad Zubair Khan, Minorities Wing president Sajid Ishaq Sindhu, SVP Punjab Inamullah Khan Niazi, SVP Sindh Muhammad Najeeb Haroon, VP (female) Punjab Dr Seemi Bukhari, VP (female) Sindh Naz Baloch, VP (male) KP Siraj Ahmad Khan, VP (male) Balochistan Muhammad Hashim Panezai, VP (general) Mian Mahmoodur Rasheed, additional secretary-general Saifullah Khan Niazi, deputy secretary-general (Sindh) Imran Ismail, deputy secretary (Balochistan) Sardar Khadim Hussain Verdag, joint secretary (Punjab) Muhammad Shabbir Siyal, joint secretary (Sindh) Muhammad Alamgir Khan, joint secretary (KP) Shahbaz Gill Shinwari, joint secretary (Balochistan) Sardar Muzammil Khan Kakar and others.