Accredited universities, institutions' list issued

February 14, 2004


ISLAMABAD, Feb 13: The Higher Education Commission (HEC) has taken serious note of the unlawful operations of private universities and asked the students and their parents to ensure accredited status of a university or institution before taking admission in such institutions.

The Commission on Friday issued the list of 97 chartered universities and institutions - 53 public and 44 private. The HEC in a statement said some of the private universities and degree-awarding institutions, which have been given charter by a provincial government, were operating unlawfully in other provinces.

The Commission said some of the private institutions were putting up misleading advertisements in the press with the claim of either representing foreign universities/institutions, or having degree-awarding status.

The recognized universities/degree-awarding institutions in the public and private sectors are:

Federal Area: Air University, Allama Iqbal Open University, Bahria University, COMSATS Institute of Information Technology, Federal Urdu University of Arts, Sciences and Technology, International Islamic University, Pakistan Institute of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Quaid-i-Azam University, Virtual University of Pakistan, Foundation University, National University of Computer and Emerging Sciences, Rifah International University.

AJK: University of Azad Jammu and Kashmir, Muzaffarabad, Al-Khair University, Mohiuddin Islamic University.

Balochistan: Balochistan University of Engineering and Technology, Khuzdar; Balochistan University of Information Technology and Management Sciences, Quetta; University of Balochistan, Iqra University, Quetta

Northern Area: Karakuram International University, Gilgit.

NWFP: Gomal University, D.I. Khan; Hazara University, Mansehra; Institute of Management Science, Peshawar; Kohat University of Science and Technology; Military College of Engineering, Risalpur; NWFP University of Agriculture, Peshawar; NWFP University of Engineering and Technology, Peshawar; Pakistan Military Academy, Abbottabad; University of Malakand, Chakdara, Dir; University of Peshawar; CECOS University of Information Technology and Emerging Sciences, Peshawar; City University of Science and Information Technology, Peshawar; Gandhara University, Peshawar; Ghulam Ishaq Khan Institute of Engineering Sciences and Technology, Topi; Northern University, Nowshera; Preston University, Kohat; Qurtaba University of Science and Information Technology, D.I. Khan; Sarhad University of Science and Information Technology, Peshawar.

Punjab: Fatima Jinnah Women University, Rawalpindi; National University of Modern Languages, National University of Sciences and Technology, Rawalpindi; University of Arid Agriculture, Rawalpindi; Islamia University, Bahawalpur; Bahauddin Zakariya University, Multan; University of Agriculture, Faisalabad; National Textile University, Faisalabad; Government College University, Lahore; Kinnaird College for Women, Lahore; Lahore College for Women University; National College of Arts, Lahore; University of Education, Lahore; University of Engineering and Technology, Lahore; University of Engineering & Technology, Taxila.; University of Health Sciences, Lahore; University of Sargodha; University of the Punjab, Lahore; University of Veterinary and Animal Sciences, Lahore; Hajvery University, Lahore; Imperial College of Business Studies, Lahore; Institute of Management and Technology, Lahore; Institute of Management Sciences, Lahore; Institute of South Asia, Lahore; Lahore School of Economics; Lahore University of Management Sciences; National College of Business Administration and Economics, Lahore; University of Central Punjab, Lahore; University of Faisalabad; and University of Lahore.

Sindh: Institute of Business Administration, Karachi; Liaquat University of Medical and Health Sciences, Jamshoro; Mehran University of Engineering and Technology, Jamshoro; NED University of Engineering and Technology, Karachi; Pakistan Naval Academy, Karachi; Quaid-i-Awam University of Engineering, Sciences and Technology, Nawabshah; Shah Abdul Latif University, Khairpur; Sindh Agriculture University, Tandojam; University of Karachi; University of Sindh, Jamshoro; Aga Khan University, Karachi; Baqai Medical University, Karachi; DHA Suffa University, Karachi; Greenwich University, Karachi; Hamdard University, Karachi; Indus Valley School of Art and Architecture, Karachi; Institute of Business Management, Karachi; Iqra University, Karachi; Isra University, Hyderabad; Jinnah University for Women, Karachi; Karachi Institute of Economics and Technology; KASB Institute of Technology, Karachi; Muhammad Ali Jinnah University, Karachi; Newport Institute of Communications and Economics, Karachi; Preston Institute of Management Science and Technology, Karachi; Shaheed Zulfikar Ali Bhutto Institute of Science and Technology, Karachi; Sir Syed University of Engineering and Technology, Karachi; Textile Institute of Pakistan, Karachi; Ziauddin Medical University, Karachi.

The HEC has also clarified that only the following institutions have been allowed to run degree awarding programmes with foreign collaborations: Karachi Institute of Information Technology with the collaboration of University of Huddersfield, England, which is an accredited university of UK; Griffith College, Dublin, Karachi campus to run National Certificate/degree programmes of the National Council for Educational Awards, Ireland, under joint collaboration between the Academic Services Pakistan, Karachi and the Griffith College, Ireland; Ziauddin Medical University, Karachi is running one year Master of Public Health degree programme in collaboration with Wollongong University, Australia. Ibadat Foundation/Ibadat Educational Trust (IFT), Islamabad was allowed to run undergraduate twinning degree programme in collaboration with Western Michigan.