Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Top clubs to compete in golf tourneys

December 04, 2008


LAHORE, Dec 3: Twenty-two teams from across the country will vie for top honours in th 3rd National Amateur Team Trophy and Challenge Shield golf event to be held at the Royal Palm course from Friday to Sunday.

Top clubs of the country have been allowed to send maximum two teams each, comprising four players.

Two teams have been fielded by the major clubs like, Lahore Gymkhana, Karachi Golf Club, Lahore Garrison Golf and Country Club, Rawalpindi Golf Club , Islamabad Golf Club, PAF Peshawar Golf Club, Gujranwala Golf and Country Club, DHA Golf and Country Club, Karachi, Arabian Sea and Country Club and the hosts Royal Palm.

Every day, the best three gross scorers of each team will be counted towards the final overall team total at the end of three days of tournament play. In the event of a tie in team score, the score of fourth player of last, second and first day will be counted till tie breaks.

If tie still persists spin of the coin will decide the champion team.

Last year’s winner team Gymkhana ‘A’ will again try to retain their title against formidable competition.

In other events, The Gross Cup, a three-day competition will also be held in which only players with a handicap of 12 and below are eligible to participate.

Running in conjunction with the main team trophy, the Gross cup will be played with Mohammad Safdar, Taimur Hassan , Aadil Jahangir, Danyal Jahangir, Tariq Mehmood, Waqar Saigol, Mohammad Rehman, Sardar Murad, Amir Mehmood, Ali Hai in the field.

Moreover, a two-day Challenge Shield will be played on Dec 5 and 6. The ladies Cup, an

18-hole event will be held on Sunday. Ladies with a handicap of 36 and below are allowed to participate.

The strong contender for the top position is defending champion Mehreen Raheel, who will face tough competition from Mrs Tahira Nazir, Asma Shami, Tahmina Rashid, Mrs Samia Javed Ali and Kashifa Zaffar.