Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


TOBA TEK SINGH: Deputy Commissioner Ahmad Khawar Shahzad on Thursday imposed fine on local bodies representatives for violation of election code of conduct. He also issued warning to two candidates over violation of ECP code.

Those who have been fined Rs20,000 each included district council chairperson Fauzia Khalid Warraich, district council vice chairman Irfan Azam Sipra, Pirmahal municipal committee chairman Chaudhry Khalid Sardar, Toba municipal committee chairman Ghulam Nabi Mithu Gujjar and independent candidate for PP-121 Tahir Pervez Anjum.

A fine of Rs10,000 each has also been imposed on Pirmahal market committee chairman Shafqat Rasool and union council chairman Nadim Akbar Mangat.

The warning has been issued to PTI candidate for NA-112 Chaudhry Muhammad Ashfaq and Pakistan National Muslim League candidate for PP-118 (Gojra) Bilal Asghar Warraich.

MULTAN: Deputy Commissioner Mudassir Riaz Malik on Thursday imposed a fine of Rs20,000 on PML-N candidate for NA-157 Abdul Ghaffar Dogar for violating the election code of conduct.

Mr Dogar has been fined for displaying banners of unapproved size in the constituency.

The DC said no one would be allowed to violate the code of conduct.

BAHAWALPUR: Deputy Commissioner Muhammad Ayub Khan fined three candidates, Waqas Anwar, Chaudhry Munir and Kamran Malik, Rs5,000 each for the violation of code of conduct of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP).

The DC has so far imposed fined worth Rs210,000 on 14 election candidates.

Published in Dawn, July 13th, 2018