Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) chairman Imran Khan is one of the several party chiefs — PML-N president Shahbaz Sharif and Awami Muslim League chief Sheikh Rashid among them — whose nomination papers to contest the forthcoming elections have been accepted by returning officers across the country.

Not all is good news for the PTI chief, however, as his papers for two out of the five constituencies where he plans to contest the poll from (Islamabad and Mianwali) were rejected on technical grounds.

PTI Senator Faisal Javed Khan has played down the rejections as "mere technicalities" that will be addressed in time.

Meanwhile, Nawaz Sharif's heir apparent (and PML-N leader) Maryam Nawaz, and PPP chairman Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari have both been cleared to fight their debut elections.

Find out who else has the approval to contest here.