Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


DACCA: The Agartala conspiracy trial begins here tomorrow [June 19] before the three-member special tribunal, headed by a former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, Mr Justice S.A. Rehman. Other members who are the Judges of the East Pakistan High Court include Mr Justice M.R. Khan and Mr Justice Maksumul Hakim.

Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, Chief of Awami League, and others, including three CSP officers and ex-Servicemen of the rank of Leading Seamen and sergeants, are facing trial for alleged offences of conspiracy and sedition of the Defence personnel. The Awami League leader stands accused of involvement in the “planning and guidance” of the Agartala conspiracy, unearthed in December last.

The three CSP officers are: Mr Ahmed Fazlur Rahman, Mr Ruhul Quddus and Mr K.M. Sham­sur Rahman. The civilians involved included Mr Bhupati Bhushan Chaudhury, Mr Bidhan Krishna Sen, Dr Syedur Rahman and Mr M. Ali Raza.

Announcing the arrest of 28 persons on Jan 6, the Home Ministry said some of them had visited Agartala (India) to discuss their alleged plan with Indian Armymen and to get arms and funds to promote their plan. The Government Press Note had added: “Evid­e­nce has also been obtained that these persons were allegedly in receipt of substantial sums of money, which were being routed through some of the arrested persons, including Mr Bhupati Bhus­han Chaudhury of Chittagong Awami League.” — Agency

Published in Dawn, June 19th, 2018