West Indies cricket team will visit Pakistan for a three-match Twenty20 series every year, for the next five years, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Chairman Najam Sethi announced on Saturday.

An agreement in this regard has been signed between PCB and Cricket West Indies (CWI).

Addressing a press conference, Sethi said that both the teams will play two T20 series "each year for the next five years", one in Pakistan and the other in the United States (US), “subject to the availability of dates and venues”.

According to the agreement, the first series will take place in Pakistan at the end of March 2018, Sethi said.

The matches will be played on March 29, March 31 and April 1, he added. However, the venue for the matches has not been decided yet.

News had been circulating about a T20 series between the two teams in November. However, Sethi had said it was not possible due to Lahore's weather conditions.

The PCB chairman said Pakistan and West Indies will play a bilateral T20 series in Pakistan while a third team will join the series in the US. The third team that would join the series in the US has not been decided yet, however, Sethi hinted that it might be a different team every year.

“I wanted to relay this good news to you to let you know that there will be no day-in day-out tours for one or two matches,” he said. “We have an agreement with West Indies for the next five years. This is an independent bilateral arrangement, independent of the FTPs [Future Tour Programmes] that would be arranged with the International Cricket Council (ICC) in December/January.”

Sethi added that while PCB will host the tournament that would be held in Pakistan, the series held in the US would be a "joint venture".