Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


MUZAFFARABAD: PML-N candidate and former ambassador Mohammad Masood Khan was elected president of Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) by the legislative assembly on Wednesday.

Masood was given 42 votes while PPP candidate Chaudhry Latif Akbar was given six votes. The Muslim Conference and Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf boycotted the election.

Masood Khan, who belongs to a suburb of Rawalakot city falling in the constituency LA-19, Poonch-III, was nominated by the PML-N as its candidate for the office of AJK president after the party won by a landslide in the general elections for 41 direct seats of the AJK LA.