Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


PML-N announces candidates for Senate polls

Updated February 11, 2015


— INP/file
— INP/file

ISLAMABAD: The ruling Pakistan Muslim League - Nawaz (PML-N) on Wednesday announced the names of its candidates for the upcoming Senate elections.

PML-N spokesman Tariq Azeem said Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has awarded senate tickets to the contestants after consulting with the parliamentary board which was set up by the party to interview the applicants for the Senate polls.

Read: 87 aspiring Senate candidates appear before PML-N board

Incumbent Leader of the House in the Senate Raja Zafarul Haq and Professor Sajid Mir succeeded in getting party tickets from Punjab on technocrat's seats.

The PML-N awarded tickets to Senator Pervaiz Rashid, Senator Mushahidullah Khan, Chaudhry Tanveer Ahmed, Lt-Gen (retired) Abdul Qayyum, Nihal Hashmi, Dr Asif Kirmani and Dr Ghous Niazi to contest elections on general seats from Punjab.

The ruling party also nominated Senator Begum Najma Hameed and Kiran Dar to contest elections on seats reserved for women from Punjab.

Also read: Rift in PML-N over Senate nominations from Fata

Senior PML-N Leader Iqbal Zafar Jhagra also succeeded in getting the party ticket to contest elections from Islamabad while Dr Raheela Magsi will contest Senate elections on seats reserved for women from Islamabad.

Lt.-Gen Salahuddin Tirmizi and Pir Sabir Shah have been named as PML-N contestants from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa while Syed Zafar Ali Shah has been given ticket from Sindh on general seat.

Sardar Yaqoob Khan Nasir, Mir Afzal Khan Mandokel, Mir Naimatullah Zehri, Shahbaz Khan Durrani, Ayaz Khan Swati, Kulsum Parveen, Sydaal Khan Nasir, and Mir Irfan Kurd will contest elections on PML-N tickets from Balochistan while Dhanish Kumar will be PML-N candidate on Senate seat reserved for minorities.