Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


By-polls: PML-N wins NA-69 Khushab, PTI claims PK-50 Haripur

Updated January 23, 2014


Strict security arrangements were made in both the constituencies for the by-polls.— File photo
Strict security arrangements were made in both the constituencies for the by-polls.— File photo

KHUSHAB/HARIPUR: According to unofficial results, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Uzair Muhammad Khan won NA-69 Khushab by-poll while Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf’s (PTI) Akbar Ayub succeeded in winning PK-50 Haripur constituency of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly in Thursday’s by-election.

Uzair Muhammad Khan bagged 92,805 votes while PTI candidate Umar Aslam came second by bagging 71,197 votes in NA-69.

The polling commenced at 8am and concluded in a peaceful manner. No untoward incident was reported from any polling station across the constituency.

The NA electorate consists of 298 polling stations and 337,654 voters are registered in the constituency.

Elaborate security arrangements were made to ensure security and avoid any untoward incident during the polling.

In the 2013 election, Sumera Malik won with the seat for third consecutive term with record 118,108 votes defeating the PTI’s Umer Aslam Awan, also for third time, who managed to bag 79,855 votes.

On Umer Aslam Awan’s petition, Malik was disqualified by the Supreme Court for possessing a fake academic degree. She then decided to field her son for the Jan 23 by-poll.

Meanwhile in KP-50 Haripur, Akbar Ayub of PTI bagged 25,671 votes, defeating his closest PML-N’s candidate Qazi Asad who obtained 19,969 votes.

Independent candidate Babar Nawaz came third with 19,417 votes.

The provincial constituency consists of 116 polling stations while 23 polling stations were declared most sensitive for Friday’s polling. However, no untoward incident was reported from the area.

There are 84,814 registered male and 68,562 female voters in constituency.

The seat fell vacant after PTI’s elected MPA Yousaf Ayub Khan was disqualified by an election tribunal in September last year and subsequently the Supreme Court also upheld his disqualification.

The tribunal had disqualified Khan over submitting a fake graduation degree in the previous election.

Police had made strict security arrangements at various polling stations in the constituency. A spokesman for the police department said that as many as 1,500 police personnel performed duties during the voting.