Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


LAHORE, Aug 22: The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz on Thursday won five of the six National Assembly seats and 10 of the 15 Punjab Assembly seats in the by-election in the province.

The Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) won a National Assembly and two Punjab Assembly seats followed by the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, which clinched two Punjab Assembly seats in South Punjab.

According to unofficial results, PML-N’s Sardar Shafqat Hayat Khan has won the NA-68 (Sargodha) seat, which was vacated by Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif. Independent candidate Javed Hasnain Shah was runner-up followed by PTI’s Malik Nazir Ahmad Sobhi.

PML-N’s Obaidullah Shadikhel won the NA-71 (Mianwali) seat, which was vacated by PTI Chairman Imran Khan. PTI’s Malik Waheed Khan was the runner-up.

In NA-83 (Faisalabad), PML-N’s Mian Abdul Mannan defeated PTI’s Faizullah Kamoka.

In NA-103, PML-N’s Shahid Hussain Bhatti won. PTI’s Chaudhry Shaukat Ali Bhatti was the runner-up in this constituency.

In NA-129 (Lahore), PML-N’s Shazia Mubashar defeated PTI’s Chaudhry Mansha Sindhu.

In NA-177 (Muzaffargarh), PPP’s Malik Noor Rabbani Khar won. Independent candidate Javed Khan Dasti was the runner-up in this constituency.

According to unofficial results of Punjab Assembly’s 15 seats, PML-N’s Chaudhry Sarfraz Afzal defeated PTI’s Wasiq Qayyum Abbasi in the PP-06 (Rawalpindi) constituency.

In PP-51 (Faisalabad), PML-N’s Azad Ali Tabassam won, while PTI’s Muhammad Ajmal Cheema stood runner-up.

In PP-123 (Sialkot), PML-N’s Khwaja Mansha Ullah Butt won. PTI’s Dawood Pervez was the runner-up.

In PP-142 (Lahore), PML-N’s Khawaja Salman Rafique won. PTI’s Malik Waqar Ahmad finished as runner-up.

In PP-150 (Lahore), PML-N’s Mian Marghoob defeated PTI’s Mahr Wajid Azeem. It may be mentioned that Mr Azeem has moved the returning officer for a recount.

In PP-161, PML-N’s Chaudhry Gulzar Ahmad Gujjar defeated PTI’s Khalid Mahmood Gujjar.

In PP-193, PPP’s Mian Khurram Jahangir Wattoo defeated PML-N’s Noorul Amin Wattoo.

In PP-210 (Lodhran), PML-N’s Zubair Khan defeated PTI’s Saad Khurshid Kanju.

In PP-217 (Khanewal), PML-N’s Rana Babar Hussain defeated Maqsood Alam.

In PP-243 (Dera Ghazi Khan), PTI’s Ahmad Ali Dareshak defeated PML-N’s Hassamuddin Khosa.

In PP-247 (Rajanpur), PTI’s Sardar Ali Raza Dareshak defeated PML-N’s Abdul Qadir Khan Mamdot.

In PP-254 (Muzaffargarh), PML-N’s Hammad Nawaz Khan defeated PTI’s Abdul Haye Dasti.

In PP-289 (Rahim Yar Khan), PML-N’s Rais Mahboob Ahmad defeated PPP’s Mian Muhammad Aslam.

In PP-292 (Rahim Yar Khan), PPP’s Makhdom Syed Ali Akbar defeated PML-N’s Molvi Tariq Chohan.