Consensus reached on Jamali as Balochistan speaker

Updated 03 Jun 2013


Balochistan Assembly -File Photo
Balochistan Assembly -File Photo

QUETTA: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidates Sardar Saleh Bhootani, Dur Muhammad Nasar and Mir Asim Kurd Gailo withdrew their nomination papers for the slot of Speaker in Balochistan Assembly, thus ensuring that consensus had been reached on Jan Muhammad Jamali as speaker.

Jamali was chief minister of Balochistan in 1998 till October 12, 1999, when Nawaz Sharif's government was removed from power by former military dictator Pervez Musharraf through a bloodless coup.

He was also Deputy Chairman Senate during the PPP-led government recently in the center.

Consensus has also been reached on Abdul Qudoos Bizenjo of Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) as Deputy Speaker of Balochistan Assembly.

PML-N candidate Samina Khan withdrew her nomination papers in support of Bizenjo.