Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


LAHORE, March 13: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s Unity and Ejaz Chaudhry groups on Wednesday won president and general secretary seats, respectively, in the intra-party Punjab central region elections.

Unity group’s Barrister Mansoor Sarwar won the president seat by defeating Ejaz Chaudhry group’s Jamil Asghar Bhatti. Bhatti is the younger brother of Abdur Rasheed Bhatti, PTI Lahore district general secretary-elect from the Unity group.

On general secretary seat, Ejaz Chaudhry group’s Usman Saeed Basra defeated Unity group’s Mian Khalid.

Overall, it is learnt, the Unity panel won all seats except the general secretary.

The PTI Punjab central region intra-party election polling was held at Aiwan-i-Iqbal in a peaceful manner. As many as 284 votes were polled by elected presidents from Lahore and Gujranwala divisions.

The nominations for PTI Punjab intra-party elections will be submitted on Friday (tomorrow), while elections will be held on Saturday.