Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


PPP, PML-Q to field joint candidates in polls

February 20, 2013

Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain. — File photo

ISLAMABAD: The ruling PPP and its ally PML-Q in the coalition government on Wednesday decided to field joint candidates in the upcoming general elections in the country.

Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) leaders held a meeting at the residence of latter’s chief, Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, during which views were exchanged about political strategy regarding polls.

The meeting discussed next electoral alliance and constituency-wise political situation.

Leaders of the both parties decided to field joint electoral candidates and enter political field with full force.

Speaking on the occasion, Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain and Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi said that this electoral alliance indicates a new era in the national politics which will establish a tradition of moving together in politics.

They said that this alliance has established that national interest is over and above political enmity and friendship.

The PML-Q leaders further said that in the public interest they have changed political opposition into electoral alliance. “This is an alliance of forces of reconciliation, justice and progress whose positive effects will reach the people soon,” they said.

The meeting was also attended by PML-Q’s Central Information Secretary Senator Kamil Ali Agha, Advisor to the Prime Minister for Industry Muhammad Basharat Raja, PML-Q Punjab General Secretary Chaudhry Zaheeruddin Khan, Cahudhry Moonis Elahi, Ahmad Yar Heraj, Khushro Bakhtiar and Nasir Mahmud Gill.

The PPP delegation included its Punjab President Mian Manzoor Ahmad Wattoo, Makhdoom Shahabuddin, Nazar Muhammad Gondal, Tanvir Ashraf Kaira, Rana Farooq Saeed, Haji Nawaz Khokhar and Haider Zaman Qureshi.