Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


KARACHI: Former Pakistan all-rounder Kamran Hussain earned the rare feat of scoring century in each innings of the same match as Bahawalpur denied Karachi Whites a certain victory in their Faysal Bank Quaid-i-Azam Trophy National Cricket Championship match at the Multan Cricket Stadium in Multan on Monday.

The 35-year-old, who played in two One-day Internationals against Zimbabwe on their tour of Pakistan in early 2008, doubled his tally of first-class hundreds after making just two in previous 148 matches. Kamran scored 139 in the first innings, but will savour the undefeated 118 more which dug Bahawalpur out of deep trouble.

Bahawalpur — who secured a slim 11-run lead on the first innings which earned their first three points in the championship — were precariously placed at 51-5 at the start of the fourth and final day. But Kamran masterminded a grand recovery by sharing two crucial partnerships.

With skipper Rehan Rafiq (31), Kamran, who hit 13 fours during his 207-ball knock, put on 65 for the sixth wicket before adding 107 for the next wicket with Ansar Javed (35).

Bahawalpur, who will play in the ‘last six-team’ event of the competition at the conclusion of the league phase, eventually declared their second innings at 245-8. Left with a meaningless 257-run chase, Karachi Whites made 65-2 when the game finished.

Abbottabad and Faisalabad would also figure in the ‘last six-team’ event after Hyderabad defeated the latter to book their place in the top tier ‘Super Eight’ phase of the coveted tournament.

Hyderabad’s 87-run victory in the Group-II tie at the Mirpur Cricket Stadium in Mirpur left bottom-placed Faisalabad still searching for their first points of the season.

Resuming at 80-5 in their pursuit for the 210-run target, Faisalabad were bundled out for 122 in 56.2 overs with off-spinner Nasir Awais taking 4-31.

Abbottabad finished fifth in the standings after drawing their last league fixture against Rawalpindi at the Gohati Cricket Ground in Swabi. The visitors declared their second innings at 289-8 after resuming at 141-3. Abbottabad, set an implausible chase for 642, ended at 110-5 in their second innings.

Sialkot claimed three points after forcing a draw against Quetta at the LCCA Ground in Lahore which left third in Group-I with 12 points with just one match left in the preliminary round. Test discard Mohammad Ayub Dogar made an undefeated 94 (217 balls, eight boundaries) as Sialkot were all out for 262 after resuming their second innings at 193-6. All-rounder Arun Lal took 4-70 with his medium-pacers.

Quetta, needing 270, reached 193-3 when the match petered out in a draw.

Discarded Test wicket-keeper Adnan Akmal struck an unbeaten 108 to help Lahore Ravi salvage an honourable draw against Group-I leaders Karachi Blues at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

The 27-year-old Adnan adorned his third first-class ton with 14 fours, while facing 229 balls in stay of 292 minutes as the Ravians fought back to pile on 305 in their second innings after starting the day at 95-2.

The Blues then made a mad scramble for an achievable target of 86, but finished on 69-5 when play ended for the last time.

Meanwhile, the game between Peshawar and Islamabad is set for an interesting conclusion on Tuesday’s final day after the visitors scored 52-0 after being a tricky fourth-innings for 364 at the Arbab Niaz Stadium in Peshawar.

Earlier, a career-best 155 (311 balls, 24 fours) from left-handed opener Israrullah enabled Peshawar declare their second innings at 439-8 after the hosts started day three on 179-2.

Scores and results on Monday (final day of four):

Group-I: At Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore: Match drawn. LAHORE RAVI 261 in 81.4 overs (Imran Farhat 127, Ali Manzoor 40; Anwar Ali 3-44, Azam Hussain 3-58, Tabish Khan 2-60) and 305 in 96.1 overs (Adnan Akmal 108 not out, Imran Farhat 57, Abid Ali 45, Asif Ashfaq 28; Misbah Khan 3-77, Anwar Ali 2-50); KARACHI BLUES 481 in 139.2 overs (Akbar-ur-Rehman 225, Fakhar Zaman 70, Tariq Haroon 54, Rameez Aziz 36; Adnan Rasool 5-133, Asif Ashfaq 3-94) and 69-5 in 10 overs (Fakhar Zaman 25; Imran Ali 3-34, Adnan Rasool 2-30). At LCCA Ground, Lahore: Match drawn. SIALKOT 232 in 86.3 overs (Shoaib Malik 77, Faisal Khan 69; Najaf Shah 5-62, Arun Lal 2-52, Jalat Khan 2-60) and 262 in 87 overs (Mohammad Ayub Dogar 94 not out, Shoaib Malik 39, Faisal Khan 33, Zahidullah 25; Arun Lal 4-70, Hammal Wahab 2-21); QUETTA 225 in 87.1 overs (Mohibullah 73, Bismillah Khan 63; Nayyar Abbas 4-70, Umaid Asif 3-47) and 193-3 in 54 overs (Bismillah Khan 58, Ali Asad 51 not out, Qaiser Abbas 50 not out). At Arbab Niaz Stadium, Peshawar (day three): PESHAWAR 103 in 34.3 overs (Nawaz Ahmed 53; Rao Iftikhar 5-28, Shehzad Azam Rana 2-23) and 439-9 declared in 122 overs (Israrullah 155, Nawaz Ahmed 78, Akbar Badshah 41, Gohar Ali 40, Zohaib Khan 29 not out; Nasrullah Khan 4-98, Zohaib Ahmed 3-77); ISLAMABAD 179 in 69.5 overs (Fahad Iqbal 44, Imad Wasim 39, Rao Iftikhar 33 not out, Shan Masood 25; Afaq Ahmed 3-12, Zohaib Khan 3-32, Umar Farooq 3-73) and 52-0 in 13 overs (Raheel Majeed 33 not out). Group-II: At Multan Cricket Stadium, Multan: Match drawn. BAHAWALPUR 362 in 109.1 overs (Kamran Hussain 139, Rehan Rafiq 74, Usman Tariq 60; Atif Maqbool 5-113, Mohammad Sami 3-64) and 245-8 declared in 92 overs (Kamran Hussain 118 not out, Ansar Javed 35, Rehan Rafiq 31; Faraz Ahmed Khan 4-26, Adeel Malik 2-51); KARACHI WHITES 351 in 102 overs (Owais Ahmed Rehmani 146 not out, Mohammad Sami 49, Fawad Alam 47, Asif Zakir 28; Ansar Javed 3-67, Kamran Hussain 2-58, Mohammad Mudassar 2-83) and 65-2 in 12 overs (Mohtashim Ali 29 not out). At Mirpur Cricket Stadium, Mirpur: Hyderabad beat Faisalabad by 87 runs. HYDERABAD 254 in 75.5 overs (Lal Kumar 64, Sharjeel Khan 63, Aqeel Anjum 40, Rizwan Ahmed 30; Asad Ali 5-54, Zeeshanullah 3-53) and 142 in 39.5 overs (Aqeel Anjum 38, Sharjeel Khan 35; Asad Ali 6-53, Naseer Akram 2-24, Samiullah Khan Niazi 2-55); FAISALABAD 187 in 80.2 overs (Naved Latif 61, Ali Waqas 36, Zeeshan Butt 36; Rehan Riaz 3-26, Mir Ali Talpur 2-14, Zahid Mahmood 2-48, Nasir Awais 2-52) and 122 in 56.2 overs (Zeeshan Butt 38; Nauman Ali 4-31, Mir Ali Talpur 2-21, Nasir Awais 2-23, Rehan Riaz 2-27). At Gohati Cricket Ground, Swabi: Match drawn. RAWALPINDI 498-9 declared (Umar Waheed 183, Hammad Azam 72, Awais Zia 66, Adnan Mufti 59, Zahid Mansoor 34; Ahmed Jamal 3-87, Khalid Usman 2-64, Yasir Shah 2-169) and 289-8 declared in 70 overs (Umar Amin 71, Mohammad Nawaz 53, Adnan Mufti 51 not out; Aziz-ur-Rehman 5-56); ABBOTTABAD 146 in 52.2 overs (Adnan Raees 49, Yasir Hameed 35; Hammad Azam 4-39, Saad Altaf 4-59, Haseeb Azam 2-37) and 110-5 in 37 overs (Waqar Orakzai 34 not out; Hammad Azam 2-10, Saad Altaf 2-28).