Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


ANP stresses solution to problem of terrorism

January 14, 2013

PESHAWAR, Jan 13: The Awami National Party paid tribute to its late leader Bashir Ahmed Bilour at a reference held here on Saturday.

Ghulam Ahmed Bilour told participants of the reference that the sacrifice rendered by his younger brother, Bashir Bilour, should serve as a wakeup call and there should be an immediate and permanent solution to the problem of terrorism.

According to a press release issued by Bacha Khan Markaz, the participants, including ANP provincial president Afrasiab Khattak, information minister Mian Iftikhar Hussain, Senator Ilyas Ahmed Bilour, CM’s adviser on local government and rural development Haroon Ahmed Bilour and others praised the zeal with which late Bilour campaigned for much-needed peace on the Pakhtun soil.

Ghulam Bilour said that Bashir Bilour battled terrorism bravely and remained undeterred despite being on the hit-list of Taliban militants. His assassination will not go in vain as he fought for peace till end of his life, he said.

QADRI’s MARCH: ANP provincial president Afrasiab Khattak has said that Dr Tahirul Qadri posed no threat to democracy, but the country is confronted with problem of terrorism that is eating up into the very fabric of the country, a statement said.

He said that under the constitution of Pakistan the role of government, judiciary and army had clearly been defined. He said that Qadri’s demands were in total contravention of the country’s law.

He said that the political parties were ready to foil attempts of sabotaging the coming election and any such move would fail.

OFFICE-BEARERS: Dr Saeedur Rehman and Dr Nadir Khan were elected unopposed as president and general secretary of Malgari Doctoran, respectively, at a ceremony held at Bacha Khan Markaz on Sunday.

Dr Sanaullah Bangash was nominated senior vice-president and Dr Abbas Shirani joint secretary.

The executive committee members included Dr Nasreen Sanaullah, Dr Mujahid Bangash, Dr Naveeduddin, Dr Mohammad Islam and Dr Jalil Khan.

Senator Afrasiab Khattak on the occasion urged the doctors to serve people with devotion.