Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


PCB snub media for annual awards ceremony

pakistan cricket awards, zaka ashraf, pcb annual awards function, pakistan cricket board, pcb, pakistan batting coach
Zaka Ashraf. -File photo

LAHORE: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has decided not to invite media to cover its first-ever annual awards ceremony, as it has sold the broadcasting rights to a private TV channel.

The ceremony is being held here on Saturday.

“PCB is organising its first-ever annual awards in Lahore on Jan 12, 2013 to honour the stakeholders in Pakistan cricket. The awards span 18 categories covering all fields of cricketing spectrum.

“A private TV channel has the rights to cover and broadcast the event. No other media opportunity is available on the venue. The live update on the awards’ recipients will be available on,” states a PCB press release issued on Friday.

“With reference to performances, the period comprises the calendar year 2012. And a highly credible panel consisting of Intikhab Alam, chief selector Iqbal Qasim and veteran journalist Qamar Ahmed have selected the winners,” it further states.

“From the best in domestic cricket to umpires and curators, player of the year in all formats and the emerging player of the year are to be named. In addition to that, there are two lifetime achievement awards as well.

“The really big one, of course, is player of the year,” it states.

“This new PCB initiative is meant to recognise, acknowledge and honour Pakistan’s cricketing talent.

“In addition, the team that won the series against India will also be rewarded,” the press release concluded.

PCB chairman Zaka Ashraf added, “We at the PCB are confident that it shall bring even greater consistency in Team Pakistan’s performances than witnessed in recent times.”

Each award accompanies cash prize.

List of award categories:

Curator of the year, Umpire of the year, Deaf cricketer of the year, Blind cricketer of the year, Woman cricketer of the year, Most valuable domestic bowler, Most valuable domestic batsman, Emerging player of the year, T20 bowler of the year, T20 batsman of the year, ODI bowler of the year, ODI batsman of the year, Test bowler of the year, Test batsman of the year, Player of the year, Lifetime achievement awards (2) and Special prize for the best bowler of the year.