Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


PPFL to kick off from September 5


PPFL. -Photo by White Star

KARACHI: Eight cities will play host to Pakistan Football Federation’s 9th Pakistan Premier Football League (PPFL), which kicks off from September 5.

The league will be played in Karachi, Quetta, Nushki, Chaman, Faisalabad, Lahore, Rawalpindi and Islamabad. The venues in these cities will be finalised after PFF’s ground inspection team’s visit. If they don’t find the ground situation suitable, the federation will have the option to change the home grounds.

The league will feature 16 teams, namely, Khan Research Laboratories (KRL), Afghan FC Chaman, Army, Water & Power Development Authority (Wapda), Karachi Electric Supply Company (KESC), Muslim FC Chaman, Pakistan International Airlines (PIA), National Bank of Pakistan (NBP), Habib Bank Limited (HBL), Navy, Pakistan Air Force (PAF), Karachi Port Trust (KPT), Baloch FC Nushki, PMC Athletico FC, Zarai Tarqiati Bank Limited (ZTBL) and Wohaib FC.

The last two mentioned were upgraded from B Division League while Police and Pak Electron Limited (PEL) were relegated.

KRL, last year’s league champions, will be defending their title this time. The league will conclude on December 30.