Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Procedure for PM’s election

ISLAMABAD: While Makhdoom Shahbuddin and Qamar Zaman Kaira are all set to withdraw their candidature for the coveted slot of prime minister, three candidates will be left in the run including PPP candidate Raja Parvez Ashraf, PML-N’s Sardar Mehtab Ahmad Khan and JUI-F’s Maulana Fazlur Rahman — if the opposition fails to reach a decision on a consensus candidate.

Under the Article 91 (4) of the Constitution, amended through the 18th Amendment and rules of procedure and conduct of business in the National Assembly 2007, if no member secures majority in the first poll, a second poll shall be held between two of the candidates securing the highest numbers of votes in the first round and the member who secures a majority of votes of the members present and voting shall be declared to have been elected as prime minister.

If the number of votes secured by two or more members securing the highest number of votes is equal, a further poll shall be held between them until one of them secures a majority.