Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


—AFP Photo
Pakistan Women now head Group ‘B’ with two wins and two points. —AFP Photo

KARACHI: Pakistan Women got their second consecutive ODI win when they beat Ireland Women by eight wickets in the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier (WWCQ) at the Narayanganj Osmani Stadium in Fatullah, Dhaka, on Tuesday.

The Group ‘B’ match saw Ireland winning the toss and electing to bat first. Pakistan’s bowlers were on call again with spinner Sadia Yousuf this time picking up four for 19 while vice captain Bisma Maroof took three for 22 and Nida Dar two for 28 runs. Ireland’s J.A. Whelan remained the highest scorer with 35 runs with skipper Joyce adding 23 runs. Ireland were all out in 44.3 overs after making 140 runs at an average of 3.14 runs per over.

The target was easily chased by Pakistan in 32.2 overs while losing only two wickets, that of openers Qanita Jalil and Sana Mir, on the way to victory. But both did their job by giving Pakistan a solid start. Qanita made a brisk 28 off 29 balls that included six fours while captain Sana added 34 off 70 balls. Top scorer Javeria Wadood Khan remained not out with 41 off 63 balls as did Bisma with her useful 22.

The match also marked all rounder Kainat Imtiaz’s ODI debut. With her seniors performing to well, her turn to bat never came though she did get to bowl one over in which she gave away four runs. Finally, Sadia Yousuf was declared the player of the match. Pakistan Women now head Group ‘B’ with two wins and two points.

The other Group ‘B’ match between Bangladesh and Japan saw the former beating the latter by 10 wickets.

Meanwhile, in Group ‘A’, the Netherlands beat Sri Lanka by seven wickets and South Africa beat USA by 198 runs to lead that group.

Wednesday is a rest day after which Pakistan meet their toughest competition in Group ‘B’ West Indies at the Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Protisthan No 2 Ground on Thursday.

Meanwhile, Ireland will take on Japan.

In Group ‘A’, the Netherlands will play USA while Sri Lanka face Zimbabwe. All matches begin at 8.00am PST.