Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Three women file papers in Kohat

August 26, 2002


KOHAT, Aug 25: Three women filed nomination papers on the seats reserved for the women in the National and provincial assemblies here on Saturday.

Nuzzat Islam and Shahida Mohabat Khan of the Pakistan Muslim League’s (QA) filed their nomination papers for the reserved seats in the National Assembly and the provincial assembly, while Musarrat Shafi (advocate) of the Awami National Party (ANP) filed her nomination paper for the provincial assembly seat.

Other candidates, who filed their nomination papers for the National Assembly seat (Kohat NA-14) are: Syed Iftikhar Hussain Gilani (PML-QA), Javed Ibraheem Paracha (PML-N), Saifullah Khan Khattak advocate (PPP), Shehryar Afridi (independent), Alhaj Fazle Raheem (ANP) and Shahbaz Gul Shinwari (National Alliance-Millat Party).

Dr Ehsan Khattak (NAPP), Asif Bangash (PPP), Majeeedullah Khan (PML-QA), Shaukat Habib (ANP) and Nawabzada Mohabat Ali Zafar (PPP-Sherpao) filed nomination papers for contesting the provincial assembly seat PF-37.

For PF-38, Seth Gohar Saifullah Khan (PML-QA), Shahbaz Gul Shinwari (National Alliance), Barrister Masud Kausar (PPP), Pir Qasim Shah (independent), Syed Qalbe Hassan (ANP), Saleem Altaf (NAPP),  Syed Mohammad Eteza (independent), Maulana Abdul Hayee (MMA), Mahmoodul Islam (PPP-Sherpao), Syed Vaqas Shah (PML-N) filed papers.

Abdul Manan Bangash (PPP), Altaf Qadir (ANP), Imtiaz Shahid (PML-QA), Khanzada Shad Khan (PPP-Sherpao) and Irshad Mohammad Khan (independent) filed their papers to contest election to PF-39.