Sheikhupura by-election

Jun 24 2008


SHEIKHUPURA, June 23: Arrangements for by-election to NA-131 and PP-171 have been finalized.

In NA-131, a contest is expected between PML-N’s Rana Afzaal and PML-Q’s Brig (retd) Zulfiqar Ahmad. The PPP has withdrawn its candidate Mushtaq Gujjar.

This constituency consists of Narang Mandi, Muridke, Kala Shah Kaku, Imamia Colony and rural and urban areas.

Local police says 2,053 personnel will be deployed to maintain law and order at 215 polling stations, with 35 of them already declared sensitive.

According to local political observers, PML-N’s Rana Afzaal is likely to win the seat. He is the younger brother of PML-N MNA Rana Tanvir Hussain who vacated it after retaining NA-132.