Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Afrasiab ANP’s new provincial president

April 13, 2007


PESHAWAR, April 12: Afrasiab Khattak and Mian Iftikhar Hussain were elected provincial president and general secretary, respectively, of the Awami National Party here on Thursday.

The elections, held at the Bacha Khan Markaz, were conducted during a meeting of the party’s provincial executive council. All the office-bearers were elected unopposed.

ANP president Senator Asfandyar Wali Khan, Ghulam Ahmad Bilour, Begum Nasim Wali Khan, Sangeen Wali Khan, Abdul Latif Afridi, Haji Adeel, Bashir Ahmad Bilour and other central leaders of the party were present on the occasion.

Baz Mohammad Khan was elected senior vice-president; Amir Haider Khan Hoti, deputy general secretary; Arbab Najeebullah, finance secretary; and Syed Aqil Shah, information secretary.

Nek Amal Khan, Zain Mohammad Kaka, Imran Afridi, Karim Babak, Syed Fareen, Arbab Zahir Khan and Sitara Imran were elected vice-presidents and Mohammad Ali Mohmand, Qaisar Khan, Malik Naveed, Qazi Habibullah, Ahmad Farooq and Dr Shamsher Ali were elected joint secretaries.

Speaking on the occasion, Asfandyar Wali Khan said the ANP would not accept a president in uniform because the party had always fought for the cause of genuine democracy. He said his party believed that the current assemblies could not re-elect Gen Pervez Musharraf as president.