ISLAMABAD: The Central Selection Board (CSB) concluded deliberations on the promotions of senior bureaucrats of different cadres on Thursday.

Principal Information Officer Sohail Ali Khan and Mubashir Tauqeer of Information Group are among those recommended for promotions.

The CSB meeting was held under the chairmanship of Federal Public Service Commission (FPSC) Chairman retired Captain Zahid Saeed.

The CSB was scheduled to conclude its three-day proceedings on Wednesday, however, the meeting was extended till Thursday since the board missed the deadline as mentioned in the agenda.

As per the agenda of the CSB’s meeting, it was scheduled to meet from Jan 4 to Jan 6. However, it took four days to consider promotions of 396 officers in BS-20 and BS-21.

The board recommended three officers of Information Group in BS-21, including Sohail Ali Khan and Mubashir Tauqeer.

The officers of Pakistan Audit and Accounts Service (PAAS) promoted in BS-21 included Mohsin Atta, Ammar Naqvi, Khurram Qureshi, Dost Ali Shah and Jan Mohammad.

The officers of Pakistan Administrative Service (PAS) promoted in BS-21 included Islamabad High Court (IHC) Registrar Sajid Baloch, Saqib Zafar, Nadeem Aslam Chaudhry, Haroon Rafique, Asim Iqbal, Shakeel Qadir, Waqas Ali Mahmood, Zubair Asghar, Usman Gul, Hasan Iqbal, Saima Saeed, Shaharyar Sultan, Asif Taman and Ali Murtaza.

The PAS officers promoted to BS-20 included Zaid Bin Maqsood, Dr Nasir Mehmood Bashir, Mohammad Jahanzeb, Aziz Ahmed Jamali, Usman Mozzam, Ehtasham Noor, Amir Sultan, Bilal Ahmed, Khurram Shahzad Umar, Sajid Zafar Dall, Babar Aman Babar, Shahidullah, Nadim Ahmed Abro, Iqbal Hussain, Mohammad Zubair, Adnan Arshad Olakh, Mohammad Khan Ranjha and retired Captain Mushtaq Ahmed.

The officers of Police Service of Pakistan (PSP) promoted to BS-21 included Ghulam Mehmood Dogar, Jan Mohammad, Sajjad Afzal Afridi, Mohammad Arif Hanif, Mohammad Amin Yousafzai and Farhat Ali Junejo.

PSP officers promoted in BS-20 included Khurram Shahzad Haider, Kamran Adil, Sajid Kiani and Mohammad Kashif.

The officers of the Federal Directorate of Education promoted to BS-20 included Dr Tariq Masood, Saeedullah Khan.

The board had earlier recommended the officers of Secretariat Group namely Alamgir Ahmed Khan, M Bilal, Mohammad Khurshid, Tariq Rashid, Jamil Anwar, Samar Ehsan, Tariq Moj, Iftikhar Gillani, Taimoor Tajammul, Syed Moazzam Ali, Mir Hassan Naqvi, Qumar Sarwar Abbasi, Saad Abbasi, Alam Zeb, Ashfaq Ghumman, Sajid Qazi, Rizwan Sheikh, Syed Mujtaba Hussain and Muhammad Munir for BS-21.

On Wednesday, the board considered four deputy directors general of the ISI for promotion on two BS-21 vacant posts of director general.

Likewise, the board considered 14 directors against two BS-20 seats of the deputy directors general.

CSB also considered six senior IB officers for promotion on three vacant posts of joint director general in BS-21.

The board also weighed 22 directors for BS-20 posts of deputy directors general.

Published in Dawn, January 8th, 2021



04 Dec 2021

Stock market carnage

PAKISTAN’S stock market has been on a downward ride for the last several months as a result of deteriorating...
04 Dec 2021

Omicron threat

THE NCOC has suggested installing more oxygen plants in various parts of the country as the new Covid-19 variant,...
04 Dec 2021

UK spymaster speaks

A RECENT speech by the chief of MI6 — the UK’s external intelligence agency — provided a key insight into the...
Crime against humanity
Updated 03 Dec 2021

Crime against humanity

The government has yet to fulfil its long-standing pledge to criminalise enforced disappearances.
03 Dec 2021

Revised valuations

THE revised property valuations notified by the FBR for 40 cities for the purpose of collecting federal taxes —...
03 Dec 2021

PWD await rights

ON the International Day of Disabled Persons, it is important to take stock of how far Pakistan has come in ensuring...