HARARE: Kevin Kasuza struck a half-century on debut while opening partner Prince Masvaure recorded his maiden fifty as Zimbabwe finished the first day of the first Test against Sri Lanka on 189 for 2 in Harare.

Masvaure, playing in his third Test, made 55 before he was caught by Sri Lanka captain Dimuth Karunaratne off the slow left-arm bowling of Lasith Embuldeniya.

Kasuza, one of three Zimbabwe players handed their Test debut, survived a dropped chance off a miscued hook shot before bringing up his own half-century.

He eventually fell lbw to Lasith Kumara for 63 after facing 214 balls and spending more than five hours at the crease.

Craig Ervine injected the innings with some impetus late in the day, hitting three sixes and as many boundaries as he finished unbeaten on 55. Brendan Taylor was 13 not out.

Zimbabwe captain Sean Williams elected to bat first despite overcast skies at the Harare Sports Club, where the African nation are playing their first home Test since 2017.

The hosts gave debuts to opening batsman Kasuza, left-arm spinner Ainsley Ndlovu and seam bowler Victor Nyauchi — in their first Test match in 14 months.

The two-Test tour was only announced by the Sri Lankan cricket board earlier this week.

Zimbabwe were readmitted as an ICC member last October following a three-month suspension over political interference.

The Sri Lanka games represent their first Tests since a 1-1 series draw in Bangla­desh in November 2018.

Zimbabwe last pla­yed a Test at home against the West Indies in October 2017.


ZIMBABWE (1st Innings):

P.S. Masvaure c Karunaratne b Embuldeniya 55

K.T. Kasuza lbw b Kumara 63

C.R. Ervine not out 55

B.R.M. Taylor not out 13


TOTAL (for two wkts, 84 overs) 189

FALL OF WKTS: 1-96, 2-164.

TO BAT: S.C. Williams, Sikandar Raza, R.W. Chakabva, D.T. Tiripano, K.M. Jarvis, V.M. Nyauchi, A. Ndlovu.

BOWLING (to-date): Lakmal 15-8-18-0; Rajitha 17-5-31-0; Embuldeniya 21-6-69-1; Kumara 16-6-37-1; de Silva 15-7-31-0.

SRI LANKA: F.D.M. Karunaratne, B.O.P. Fernando, B.K.G. Mendis, A.D. Mathews, L.D. Chandimal, D.M. de Silva, N. Dickwella, L. Embuldeniya, R.A.S. Lakmal, C.A.K. Rajitha, C.B.R.L.S. Kumara.

UMPIRES: M. Erasmus (South Africa) and N.N. Menon (India).

TV UMPIRE: L. Rusere (Zimbabwe).

MATCH REFEREE: J. Srinath (India).

Published in Dawn, January 20th, 2020