LAHORE: Pakistan Women’s Baseball Team was due to leave for China late on Wednesday night to participate in the second Asian Women’s Baseball Championship, being held at Zhonghshan, from Nov 9 to 16.

According to Pakistan Federation Baseball (PFB) president Syed Fakhar Ali Shah, teams of the countries like Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, China, Hong Kong, Phili­ppines and India are participating in the tournament.

The teams are divided into two groups. Group ‘A’ comprises Japan, China, India and Pakistan, while Group ‘B’ has Taiwan, Korea, Hong Kong and the Philippines. Pakistan will play their first match against China on Nov 9, second against Japan on Nov 10, third against India on Nov 11.

The team is led by Minahil Ahmed while Aisha Kiran is the vice-captain. The other players are Rabia Karim, Amna Javed, Najma Bibi, Bakhtawar Iqbal, Maria Nazir Cheema, Rahat Zainab, Roheed Akhtar, Zoya Sattar, Saman, Aqeela Zafar, Mehvish Ghulam, Sumba, Nida Akram, Hoorain Hafeez and Rabia Basri.

Published in Dawn, November 7th, 2019