Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


KARACHI: Former Pakistan representative Anwar Ali starred with a five-for Karachi Whites completed a swift rout of Zarai Taraqiati Bank Limited (ZTBL) in their third-round clash of the Quaid-i-Azam Trophy National Cricket Championship at the National Stadium on here on Wednesday.

The departmental outfit was quickly blown away on the fourth and final day of action when they lost the remaining six wickets for the addition of just 30 runs to the overnight second-innings total of 145-4, and thereby humiliated by an innings and 79 runs.

Anwar — who is captaining Karachi Whites this season — ripped through the ZTBL tail by taking four of the six wickets to fall, while finishing with excellent figures of 5-33 in 21 overs as ZTBL were dismissed for 175 in 98 overs. Fellow seamer Waqar Anwar lent good support with two for 36 in 18 overs.

Karachi Whites earned 10 points to take their tally to 19 from two wins in three matches, while ZTBL crashed to their second defeat in the championship.

Rawalpindi also won hands down when they drubbed Pakistan Television (PTV) by 10 wickets at the Pindi Cricket Stadium in Rawalpindi after dismissing the departmental side for 320 in the second innings and then knocking off the small chase for 45 without much trouble.

Resuming at 215-6 after having followed on, PTV lost their remaining wickets for 105 runs. The overnight partnership between Aamir Jamal (46) and Taimur Khan (49) was worth 68.

The new-ball duo of veteran Saad Altaf and Syed Tauseeq Shah claimed four wickets each with young Tauseef finishing with match figures of nine for 133 after having captured 5-30 in the first innings on Tuesday.

HBL batted through the last day at the Gaddafi Stadium while extending their second innings score from 20-2 to 234-7 to draw against Lahore Whites.

Zohaib Khan struck an unbeaten 59 from 136 balls with the aid of four fours and one six to rescue the bankers from the doldrums of 136-6. Zohaib, in fact, had a splendid game since he scored 69 in the first innings before picking up five for 50 in 38 overs as Lahore Whites totalled 340 in reply to HBL’s first-innings tally of 386.

Pakistan discard Umar Akmal slammed 46 off 77 deliveries while striking five fours and one six.

Slow left-armer Mohammad Irfan snared five wickets for 81 runs in 39 overs.

In matches finishing early, Pesh­awar defeated NBP, SNGPL thrashed Islamabad, Wapda walloped Lahore Blues, KRL beat Fata while Multan stunned SSGCL.

All teams, who competed in the first-class competition during the week, will be in action on Saturday when the third-round fixtures of the Quaid-i-Azam One-day Cup are played.

Scores and results on Wednesday (final day of four):

Third round:

Pool ‘A’:

At Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore: Match drawn.

HBL 386 in 115.3 overs (Abid Ali 131, Zohaib Khan 69, Ramiz Aziz 53, Imran Farhat 47, Agha Salman 28; Saif-ur-Rehman 4-81, Mohammad Waheed 2-72, Mohammad Irfan 2-101) and 234-7 in 84 overs (Zohaib Khan 59 not out, Umar Akmal 46, Ramiz Aziz 25, Abdur Rehman 25; Mohammad Irfan 5-81, Mohammad Waheed 2-52; LAHORE WHITES 340 in 139.4 overs (Ali Rafiq 121, Anas Mahmood 63, Usman Salahuddin 51, Nauman Anwar 34, Ameer Hamza 23; Zohaib Khan 5-50, Khurram Shahzad 2-67).

Pool ‘B’:

At National Stadium, Karachi: Karachi Whites beat ZTBL by an innings and 79 runs.

ZTBL 207 in 75.4 overs (Usman Ashraf 86 not out, Anas Mustafa 56, Aaqib Shah 20; Adeel Malik 4-38, Israr Ahmed Awan 2-27, Anwar Ali 2-45) and 175 in 98 overs (Anas Mustafa 48, Raza Ali Dar 40, Munir-ur-Rehman Tanzil 29, Aaqib Shah 23; Anwar Ali 5-33, Waqar Anwar 2-36); KARACHI WHITES 461 in 113 overs (Khurram Manzoor 199, Omair Bin Yousuf 135, Saad Ali 36, Mirza Asad Baig 29, Mohammad Hasan 26; Imran Khan 4-91, Mohammad Ali 3-91).

At Pindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi: Rawalpindi beat PTV by 10 wickets.

RAWALPINDI 392 in 131.5 overs (Haseeb Azam 75, Tayyab Riaz 68, Mukhtar Ahmed 63, Usman Saeed 59, Umair Masood 37, Naved Malik 29; Tabish Khan 4-123, Aamir Jamal 3-97, Raza Hasan 2-50) and 48-0 in 13.1 overs (Sarmad Hameed 29 not out); PTV 116 in 33.5 overs (Aamir Jamal 48; Syed Tauseeq Shah 5-30, Haseeb Azam 3-20, Saad Altaf 2-44) and 320 in 111,5 overs (Mohammad Waqas 81, Taimur Khan 49, Aamir Jamal 46, Saud Shakeel 42, Tabish Khan 25 not out; Syed Tauseeq Shah 4-103, Saad Altaf 4-107).

Published in Dawn, September 20th, 2018