Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


17 candidates issued show cause notices

Updated July 11, 2018


RAWALPINDI: District monitoring officer and deputy commissioner Dr Umer Jehangir has issued show-cause notices to 17 candidates of the National Assembly and Provincial Assembly Punjab for violating the election code of conduct.

The candidates who have been issued show-cause notices include Raja Pervaiz Asharf, Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan, Sheikh Rashid Ahmed, Hanif Abbasi, Malik Abrar, Daniyal Chaudhry, Raja Javed Ikhlas, Raja Qamarul Islam, Maulana, Ghulam Sarwar, Amir Mehmood Kiyani and Malik Shakil Awan.

The notices have been issued because the publicity material is devoid of the name and address of printer and publishers that is mandatory under Section 234 of the Election Code of Conduct.

The candidates have been directed to remove the illegal publicity material within 24 hours.

The candidates have been asked as to why their cases are not sent to the ECP for legal action under the above mentioned clauses.

Published in Dawn, July 11th, 2018