Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


The chances of Dr Farooq Sattar as well as Pervez Musharraf contesting the elections appear to be depleting fast.

Both the leaders' nomination papers have been rejected — Sattar's from NA-245 in Karachi and Musharraf's from NA-1 in Chitral.

The returning officer for NA-245, Ahsan Khan, rejected Sattar's nomination papers on the grounds that he is a declared absconder in two cases.

But there's good news for PTI, PPP and PML-N as the nomination papers of Imran Khan, Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari, Hamza Shahbaz and Maryam Nawaz following scrutiny have been accepted.