HYDERABAD: The nomination papers of one candidate each of the Pak Sarzameen Party (PSP) and Mohajir Qaumi Movement (MQM) were rejected on the first day of the scrutiny of forms for the July 25 general election in Hyderabad on Tuesday.

MQM candidate Arshad Naeem, seeking to contest for NA-227, was declared ineligible for contesting an election on the grounds of possessing dual nationality.

PSP candidate Babar Chandio, who had filed his papers for PS-63, was also declared ineligible on the same ground. The form of Amir Khan for the PS-66 seat was rejected on technical ground.

Nomination forms of four candidates were rejected during scrutiny of papers filed for PS-64. They were Rabiur Rehman, Habibur Rehman, Hassan Rashid and Salman.

The candidates whose forms were accepted were PSP’s Irfan Moham­mad Khan, Syed Shahbaz Ali Abidi and Mohammad Waqas Siddiqui; and Syed Razaul Hassan, Abdul Aleem Khan, Mehfooz Ahmed and Abdul Qadeer Ahmed.

For NA-225 Hyderabad-I, the nomi­nation forms of Pakistan Peo­ples Party-Parliamentarians (PPP-P) candidates Ameer Ali Shah Jam­ote and his son Hussain Tariq Shah Jamote were accepted.

For PS-62, nomination forms of Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA) secretary general Ayaz Latif Palijo and PSP’s Saddam Hussain were accepted. Forms of independent candidates Mohammad Ali Vighio, Habibur Rehman, Rabiur Rehman and PPP-Shaheed Bhutto (PPP-SB) candidate Majeed Siyal were accepted.

For PS-63, nomination papers of Tabdeeli Pasand Party (TPP) leader Ali Qazi, Zeenat Inam Memon and Zeeshan Memon (the mother and brother-in-law of PPP leader Sharjeel Inam Memon) were accepted.

For PS-65, forms of PSP’s Raheel Qaimkhani and Abdul Aleem Khanzada, PPP’s Azhar Ali Siyal and MQM-P’s Imran Ahmed as well as Syed Ali Raza Shah, Nisar Ahmed Khanzada, Mohammad Ashraf and Younus Khan were accepted.

For PS-66, forms of six candidates were accepted. They were Rashid Khilji (MQM-P), Zaman Qureshi, Ahmed Rasheed (PSP), Kamran Shafique, Zaheeruddin Shaikh and Fatima Zohra.

For NA-226, forms of MQM-P’s Kanwar Naveed Jamil and Sabir Qaimkhani, PPP’s Ali Mohammad Sahito and independent candidate Ghayoor Mohammad Khan were accepted.

For NA-227, forms of Jamiat Ulema-i-Pakistan-Noorani (JUP-N) chief Sahibzada Abul Khair Zubair, MQM-P’s Rashid Khilji, PPP’s Irfan Gul Magsi, PSP’s Ahmed Rasheed and Tehreek-i-Allah-o-Akbar’s Faisal Nadeem were accepted.

JACOBABAD: A total of 15 candidates have submitted their nomination papers for NA-196 Jacobabad and 17 for PS-I Jacobabad.

Another 20 candidates filed their papers for PS-2 Thull and 15 for PS-3 Garhi Khero.

For NA-196 Jacobabad, the nomination papers of Muttahida Majlis-i-Amal (MMA) leader Dr A.G. Ansari and PTI leader Muhammadmian Soomro were accepted.

For PS-1 Jacobabad, nomination papers of MMA candidate Deedar Ali Lashari and PTI candidate Mohammad Aslam Abro were accepted.

For PS-2 Thull, the form of Mir Tahir Khoso of PTI was accepted.

For PS-3 Garhi Khero, the nomination papers of PTI candidate Sardar Sakhi Abdul Razzak Khoso were accepted.

Former Jacobabad DIG to back PTI

Former Jacobabad DIG Mir Nadir Khan Khoso, who failed in his bid to get a PPP ticket, decided to support PTI in the general election, Muhammad­mian Soomro said on Tuesday. Mr Soomro, a former Senate chairman who recently joined the PTI, called on Mr Khoso in the latter’s village along with other PTI candidates and activists to seek his support.

Mr Khoso had obtained the nomination form to contest for PS-1 Jacobabad seat but his request for the PPP ticket was turned down.

Published in Dawn, June 13th, 2018