SAHIWAL: Infighting among Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) leaders has surfaced in Sahiwal as aspirants for tickets have submitted their nomination papers as independent candidates after they were denied party tickets.

This happened in NA-147 and 148, PP-202, PP-197 and PP-199.

Nauman Langrial from NA 147, Anwarul Haq Ramay from NA-158, Chaudhry Sagheer Anjum and Shaikh Shahid Hameed from PP-197, and Umer Ishaq and Rana Anayat from PP-199 publically announced that they would not support PTI candidates in their constituencies.

Going a step further, Mr Langrial submitted his nomination form for NA-149 and PP–202 where from PTI has awarded tickets to Rai Hasan Nawaz.

Soon after tickets announcements, the Rai claimed that Mr Langrial would be given ticket for PP-202.

An insider told Dawn Mr Langrial, the winner of 2008 election and runner-up in the 2013 election, was not satisfied with the compromise. It is said the Langrial family demanded a women reserved seat for Amina Naveed, sister of Mr Langrial, which was also not entertained by the party.

The PTI has yet to finalize its candidates for PP-196 and PP-202.

Babar Sagheer has submitted his papers for PP-197, where the PTI has awarded ticket to Sheikh Muhammad Chohan. Anwarul Haq Ramay has revolted in NA-148, and he will contest polls as an independent candidate. The same was done by Mr Hameed, who joined the PTI after leaving the Muttahidda Majlis-i-Amal, is an independent candidate. Umer Ishaq will also contest against PTI’s Irshad Kathiya in PP–199.

Up to 50 candidates have submitted their nomination papers for three Punjab Province (PP) and one National Assembly (NA) constituencies in Chichawatni.

For PP-200, candidates are Muhammad Faheem, Tahir Shahzad, Ameer Hamza, Umair Javad, Muhammad Ayub, Shahzad Saeed Cheema, Rana Riaz Ahmed, Arsalan Arshad, Ali Farid Kathiya, Waheed Asghar Dogar and Naveed Asghar Doger.

For PP-201, Ziaur Rehman, Shafqat Ali Cheema, Khurram Asif Cheema, Wahid Ghafoor, Muhammad Hanif, Muhammad Iqbal, Nayyaar Farid, Rai Muhammad Murtaza, and Gulam Nabi submitted their nomination papers. For PP-202, candidates are Talib Hussain, Arsalan Masood, Syed Ubaidur Rehman, Muhammad Mansha, Allah Yar, Ghulam Sarwar, Naeem Akhter, Saeed Ahmed, Adil Saeed, Nazeer Ahemd, Muhammad Sajid Munir, Shahid Munir, Muhammad Daood and Nauman Langrial. For NA-149, Muhammad Hamza, Amna Naz, Masood Khan, Muhammad Arshad, Muhammad Tufail, Shahnaz Javed, Ali Javed, Nauman Langrial, Ashiq Hussain, Muhammad Shakeel, Muhammad Ashraf, Rai Murtaza Iqbal, Rai Hasan Nawaz, Muhammad Haq Nawaz Khan, and Rana Hamid have submitted their nomination papers.

Published in Dawn, June 12th, 2018