ISLAMABAD: President Mamnoon Hussain has announced 141 ‘Pakistan Civil Awards’ for citizens of Pakistan as well as foreign nationals for showing excellence and courage in their respective fields.

The investiture ceremony of these awards will take place on Pakistan Day (March 23), said a press release issued here on Wednesday.

Following are the names of those who will be receiving the awards:


Dr Fidel Castro Ruz (late) (Cuban), Services to Pakistan


Asma Jahangir (late), Public Service


Mohammad Anwar Habib (Punjab) Engineering (Electronics); Aslam Hayat (Punjab), Engineering (Nuclear); Tariq Mahmud (Punjab), Engineering (Chemical); Dr Anjum Tauqir (Sindh), Metallurgy; Hussain Dawood, Public Service (Business); Mian Muhammad Abdullah, Public Service (Industry); Muhammad Ali Tabba, Public Service (Industry)


Kimihide Ando (Japan), Haris Silaj­dzic (Bosnia), Dr Song Jong-hwan (Kor­ea) and Sadiq Khan — all will be given the award for their services to Pakistan.


Names of those who have been honoured for gallantry: Abdul Ghani (late) (Sindh), Saifur Rehman Shaheed (Gilgit Baltistan), retired Captain Syed Ahmad Mobin Zaidi Shaheed (Punjab), Zahid Mehmood Gondal Shaheed (Punjab), Muhammad Ashraf Noor Shaheed, Hamid Shakeel Sabir Shaheed, Maulana Hassan Jan Shaheed and Dr Mufti Sarfraz Ahmed Naeemi Shaheed.


Prof Dr Zabta Khan Shinwari (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Biotechno­logy; Zia Chishti (USA), Information Technology; Ashar Aziz (USA), IT; Syed Zia Hasnain Shah (Sindh), Chemistry; Dr Mohammad Zahid (Punjab), Physics; Waqar Murtaza Butt (Sindh), Engineering-nuclear; Syed Yusuf Raza (Islamabad), Engineering (nuclear power); Muhammad Khalid Akbar (Islamabad), Electronics, Instrument and Control; Rana Abdul Qayyum (Punjab), Mechanical; Ayaz Aziz (Punjab),

Engineering-aerospace; Amjad Fareed Sabri (late) (Sindh), Qawali; Ameena Saiyid (Literature); Muhammad Hanif (Literature); Mohsin Hamid (Literature); Misbahul Haq (Punjab) Cricket; Younus Khan (KP) Cricket; Sarfraz Ahmed (Sindh) Cricket; Shahid Afridi (KP) Cricket; Commander Makhdum Ali Chishti (UK), Services to Pakistan; Retired Ambassador Jamshed G. Kharas (late) (Sindh), Services to Pakistan; Junaid Jamshed Khan (late) (Sindh), Religions Scholar; Retired Justice Saiduzzaman Siddiqui (late) (Sindh), Public Service; Dr Abdul Malik Baloch (Balochistan), Public Service; Ayesha Raza, Senator (Punjab), Public Service; Saira Afzal Tarar, Public Service; Zahid Bashir, Public Service (Social Service)

President Award for Pride of Performance

Prof Dr Bashir Ahmad (KP), Biotechnology; Prof Dr Asifullah Khan (KP), Computer; Prof Dr Sarmad Hussain (Punjab), Computer; Dr Abdul Samad (KP), Archaeology; Retired Captain Dr Rahim Bux Bhatti (Sindh), Medicine; Dr Mohammad Faheem (Islamabad), Medicine; Bashir Ahmad Khan (KP), Mechanical; Muhammad Kaleem Anwar (Punjab), Mechanical; Muhammad Aslam Chughtai (Punjab), Mechanical; Dr Muhammad Sarwar (Punjab), Metallurgy; Dr Muhammad Amir Khan (Sindh), Mechanical; Dr Hamid Zaigham (Punjab), Mechanical and Material Engineering; Muhammad Ilyas (Punjab), Electro Mechanical Maintenance; Sohail Akhtar (Punjab), Electronics; Retired Lt Col Kaleem Akhtar (Punjab), Electrical Enginee­ring and Production Quality Control; Shahzad Ahmad (KP), Electrical and Electronics; Taj Multani (Sindh), Singing; Bilquees Khanum (Sindh), Singing; A. Nayyar (late) (Punjab) Singing; Master Ghulam Haider (late) (Punjab), Music composing; Shafi Muhammad (Sindh), Music; Zarrin Suleman Panna (Punjab), Dancing; Amanullah (Punjab), Acting Stage Drama and Theatre; Maryam Khatoon Durdana Baloch (Balochistan), Acting Drama & Radio; Qudsia Azmat Nisar (Punjab), Painting; Asghar Ali (Punjab), Calligraphy; Ahmed Khan (Punjab), Visual Arts; Khalid Anum, Singing/Acting; Nighat Butt, Acting; Nighat Chaodhry, Classical Dance; Qaiser Nizamani, Drama Acting; Aslam Pervaiz, Film Acting; Nighat Iqbal, Arts; Syed Murtaza Shah (Dadahi) (Sindh), Poetry; Haris Khalique (Islamabad), Poetry; Prof Usman Ali (late) (GB), Literature; Dr Rauf Parekh, Literature; Farooq Sar­war (Balochistan), Literature; Dr Syed Akhtar Jaffri (Syed Akhtar Aman Jaffri) (Punjab), Literature; Shakeel Adilzada (Sindh), Literature; Ustad Bukhari, Literature; Hanif Khalid (Punjab), Journalism; Hafeez Ameen (Punjab), Journalism; Tahir Khalil, Journalism; Nawaz Raza (Punjab), Journalism; Khalid Noor (KP), Karate; Najia Rasool (Punjab), Taekwondo; Retired Brig Javed Ahmed Satti, Services to Pakistan; and Riffat Rehana (late) (Punjab), Public Service.


Afzal Khan (Brussels), Services to Pakistan


Dr A.J.A Lakkumar Fernando (Sri Lanka), Services to Pakistan

Tamgha-i-Shujaat (Gallantry)

Haji Abu Bakar (late) (Sindh), Abdul Rehman (GB), Mustaqeem Shaheed (GB), Muhammad Amin Khan Shaheed (Punjab), Muhammad Asmat Ali Shaheed (Punjab), Nadeem Tanveer Shaheed (Punjab), Muhammad Aslam Shaheed (Punjab), Irfan Mehmood Shaheed (Punjab), Retired Col Safdar Hussain (Punjab), Syed Pir Muhammad Shah (Sindh), Muhammad Irfan Shaheed (Sindh), Hamid Tauqeer Shaheed (Punjab), Muhammad Arshad Shaheed (Sindh), Muhammad Azeem Fareedi Shaheed (GB), Maqbool Rehman Shaheed (KP), Malik Gul Akbar Khan Shaheed (Bajaur Agency), Malik Gul Shah Ali Khan Shaheed (Bajaur Agency), Malik Haji Muhammad Amin (Khyber Agency), Akhtar Munir Shaheed (Khyber Agency), Mehboob Khan (Orakzai Agency), Taj Alam Shaheed (Mohmand Agency) and Naik Jabeen Khan Shaheed (Bajaur Agency).


Zaheer Ahmed Malik (Punjab), Physics; Dr Seemin Jamali (Sindh) Medicine; Prof Muhammad Shamim Khan (UK), Medicine; Mustaqeem Elahi Mirza (Punjab), Mechanical Technology; Muhammad Anjum (Punjab), Chemical Engineering; Dr Muhammad Rasheeq Ullah Baig Mirza (Punjab), Engineering; Dr Najamus Saqib (KP), Aerospace Engineering; Shafqat Aziz (Punjab), Electronic Engineering; Faisal Saud (Islamabad), Computer Engineering; Muhammad Imran (Punjab), Electronics Engineering; Syed Zafar Hussain Kazmi (KP), Engineering-chemical; Dr Gulzar Hussain Zahid (Punjab), Engineering-nuclear; Tariq Mehmood Malik (Punjab), compere; Retired Col Abdul Jabbar Bhatti (Mountaineering); Prof Dr Oya Akgonenc Mugisuddin (Turkey), Services to Pakistan; Osama Ahmed Warriach (late) (Punjab), Public Service; Aban Marker Kabraji (Sindh), Environment; Prof Dr Tariq Mahmood (Sindh), Public Service; Dr Nadeem Jan (Fata), Public Service; Dr Nuzhat Faruqui (Sindh), Public Service; and Masoodul Mulk (KP), Public Service.

Published in Dawn, March 16th, 2018



18 May, 2022

SC on defections

THE judgement is monumental and will significantly influence Pakistani politics for years to come. After a nearly...
18 May, 2022

Karachi blast

THE frequency of urban terrorism incidents over the past few weeks in Karachi should send alarm bells ringing within...
18 May, 2022

Threats to Imran Khan

IT seems there is never a dull moment in Imran Khan’s life. First, it was a cabal of local and international...
Updated 17 May, 2022

Buyer’s remorse

It is strange to hear senior PML-N leaders lamenting the subsidies, yet not even coming up with a subsidy rationalisation plan.
17 May, 2022

Sikh traders’ killing

THE brutal murder of two Sikh traders in the outskirts of Peshawar on Sunday illustrates the vulnerability of...
17 May, 2022

Cholera outbreak

REPORTS of rising cases of cholera and acute watery diarrhoea in several areas are raising the spectre of a public...