Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


15 in the run for NA-4 by-election

October 05, 2017


PESHAWAR: Fifteen candidates are in the run for the by-election on the National Assembly constituency of NA-4, Peshawar IV, as the returning officer released final list of contestants and allotted them election symbols on Wednesday.

The seat had fallen vacant with the death of a disgruntled MNA of Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf, Gulzar Khan. Polling will be held on Oct 26.

The contesting candidates are: Arbab Amir Ayub of PTI, Asad Gulzar Khan of PPP, Khushdil Khan of ANP, Nasir Khan Musazai of PML-N, Wasil Farooq Jan of JI, Mohammad Shafiq Ameeni of Tehreek-i-Labaik Pakistan and independent candidates Amanullah Khan Afridi, Liaqat Ali Khan, Dr Mubashir Khan, Samiullah, Shaukat Khan Mohmand, Ziaur Rehman, Farhan Qaiser, Mohammad Tanveer and Maulana Waheed Alam.

The ECP has already issued a code of conduct for the polls, placing ban on development schemes by the federal, provincial and local governments in the area.

Published in Dawn, October 5th, 2017