Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


LONDON: England will host Pakistan for two Tests in 2018 before India arrive for a five-match Test series, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) announced on Tuesday.

England and India will play three Twenty20 Internationals in July, followed by three One-day Internationals and then Tests at Edgbaston, Lord’s, Trent Bridge, Southampton and The Oval.

England’s schedule for the year also includes meetings with Pakistan, Australia and Scotland.

England will play seven Tests, nine One-day Internationals and four Twenty20 Internationals in 2018 and begin their season on May 24 against Pakistan, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) said.

England and Pakistan, who drew 2-2 in the four-Test series last year, face off in Tests at Lord’s and Headingley.

Next up for England is a trip to Edinburgh for an One-day International on June 10 where Eoin Morgan’s men face Scotland.

Arch-rivals Australia visit England for five One-day Internationals and a solitary Twenty20 International between June 13 and 27 before the India series begins with three Twenty20 Internationals and three One-day Internationals in July.

The attention then shifts to the five-match Test series against Virat Kohli’s men with the opening fixture beginning at Edgbaston on Aug 1.

“A five-Test series against India is at the heart of next summer’s international programme,” said ECB chief executive officer Tom Harrison in a press release. “This is always a much-anticipated contest which attracts a huge following across the globe for the five-day game.

“Test match cricket has a strong, consistent and passionate following across England and Wales and the seven summer Tests, starting with the Pakistan matches, are sure to attract good crowds.

“Alongside these, England’s white-ball contests against India, Australia and Scotland will give a fascinating guide to form ahead of the ICC Cricket World Cup, to be staged here in 2019.”

It will be only the second time India, the world’s number one Test side, play a five-Test series in England since 1959.


May 24-28: England vs Pakistan — First Test (Lord’s).

June 1-5: England vs Pakistan — Second Test (Headingley).

June 10: England vs Scotland — One-off ODI (Edinburgh).

June 13: England vs Australia — First ODI (The Oval).

June 16: England vs Australia — Second ODI (Cardiff).

June 19: England vs Australia — Third ODI (Trent Bridge).

June 21: England vs Australia — Fourth ODI (Chester-le-Street).

June 24: England vs Australia — Fifth ODI (Old Trafford).

June 27: England vs Australia — One-off Twenty20 International (Edgbaston).

July 3: England vs India — First Twenty20 International (Old Trafford).

July 6: England vs India — Second Twenty20 International (Cardiff).

July 8: England vs India — Third Twenty20 International (Bristol).

July 12: England vs India — First ODI (Trent Bridge).

July 14: England vs India — Second ODI (Lord’s).

July 17: England vs India — Third ODI (Headingley).

Aug 1-5: England vs India — First Test (Edgbaston).

Aug 9-13: England vs India — Second Test (Lord’s).

Aug 18-22: England vs India — Third Test (Trent Bridge).

Aug 30-Sept 3: England vs India — Fourth Test (Southampton).

Sept 7-11: England vs India — Fifth Test (The Oval).

Published in Dawn, September 6th, 2017

For more live updates, follow's official news Instagram account