An official with the Trump administration has hinted that the recent suspension imposed on travel from seven Muslim countries might be extended to other countries, including Pakistan.

White House chief of staff Reince Priebus, while talking on CBS News, clarified that this is "not a Muslim ban".

“You can point to other countries that have similar problems like Pakistan and others - perhaps we need to take it further,” said Priebus.

“But for now, immediate steps, pulling the Band-Aid off, is to do further vetting for people traveling in and out of those countries," added the White House chief of staff.

The official also said the seven countries included in the suspension were chosen by the Congress and the Obama administration, as the countries were most identifiable with dangerous terrorism taking place in their country.

He also reiterated that President Trump is merely following up on his campaign promises.

On Friday, Trump signed a sweeping new executive order to suspend refugee arrivals and imposed tough new controls on travellers from seven Muslim countries.

Making good on one of his most controversial campaign promises, and to the horror of human rights groups, Trump said he was making America safe from “radical Islamic terrorists”.

Trump's decree suspends the entire US refugee resettlement programme for at least 120 days while tough new vetting rules are established.

These new protocols will “ensure that those approved for refugee admission do not pose a threat to the security and welfare of the United States”. In addition, it specifically bars Syrian refugees from the US indefinitely, or until the president himself decides that they no longer pose a threat.

Meanwhile, no visas will be issued for 90 days to migrants or visitors from seven mainly-Muslim countries: Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen.