ISLAMABAD: President Mamnoon Hussain conferred on Wednesday 70 military and 84 civil awards on various individuals for their outstanding performance in different fields.

The awards were presented at a special ceremony held at the presidency in connection with Pakistan Day.

Chief of Army Staff Gen Raheel Sharif, Chief of Air Staff Air Chief Marshal Sohail Aman, ministers, parliamentarians, diplomats, civil and military officials, and people belonging to different walks of life attended the ceremony.

The number of awards in military categories was: Hilal-i-Imtiaz (Military), 34 and Sitara-i-Basalat (Military), 35. Flying Officer Marium Mukhtiar (Shaheed) was the only recipient of Tamgha-i-Basalat.

The number of awards in civil categories was: Nishan-i-Imtiaz, 3, Hilal-i-Shuja’at, 1, Hilal-i-Imtiaz, 2, Sitara-i-Shuja’at, 6, Sitara-i-Imtiaz, 17, President’s Award for Pride of Performance, 8, Tamgha-i-Shuja’at, 40, and Tamgha-i-Imtiaz, 7.

The recipients of civil awards also included six foreign nationals from Sri Lanka, Saudi Arabia, the US, Switzerland and France.

NISHAN-I-IMTIAZ was received by Parvez Butt, Dr Ishrat Husain and Anwar Ali.

HILAL-I-SHUJA’AT was awarded to Jahangir Khanzada, next of kin (son) of retired Col Shuja Khanzada, a former Punjab provincial minister who died in a suicide bombing at his house at Attock last year.

HILAL-I-IMTIAZ was presented to Ejaz Ahmed Mukhtar and Ms Zeba Ali.

SITARA-I-SHUJA’AT was presented to Muhammad Qamar Abbas, next of kin (son) of Chaudhry Zulfiqar Ali, Muhammad Aslam Pervez, Moeen Habib Khan, Tehseen Ullah Shah, Sohail Akbar Khan and Col Syed Mohsin Raza.

SITARA-I-IMTIAZ was received by Prof Carlos Soria Fontán of Spain, Mohamed Jamaludeen (Sri Lanka), Dr Abdulaziz Othman Altwaijri (Saudi Arabia), Prof Dr Syed Sohail Hussain Naqvi (Lahore), Prof Dr Mukhtar Ahmed (Islamabad), Dr Syed Farhat Abbas Naqvi (Karachi), Dr Faisal Saud Dar (Islamabad), Prof Dr Attash Durrani (Islamabad), Ms Ronak Iqbal Lakhani (Karachi), Mr Soofian J. Zuberi (US), Mr Babar Yaqoob Fateh Muhammad (Islamabad), Mrs Helga Katharina Ahmed, next of kin (Wife) of Mr Jamil Ahmad (late) (Islamabad), Rana Ghulam Shabbir (Islamabad), Mr Zulfiqar Ahmad Cheema (Islamabad), Mr Azizuddin Boolani (Islamabad), Dr Asif Mahmood Jah (Lahore) and Masroor Mirza, next of kin (son) of Mirza Manzoor Ahmed (late) (Karachi).

PRESIDENT’S AWARD FOR PRIDE OF PERFORMANCE was awarded to Prof Dr Ehsan Akbar, Nesar Qadri, Sabz Ali, Dr Abdul Ghaffar, Switzerland, Najam Ahmed Shah, retired Capt Zahid Saeed, Umar Draz Khan and Prof Dr Abida Taherani.

TAMGHA-I-SHUJA’AT was received by Mohib Ali, next of kin (father) of Mr Abbas Ali Shaheed (Kurram Agency), Imran Khan, next of kin (son) of Mr Liaqat Ali Shaheed (Balochistan), Majeeda Begum, next of kin (mother) of Ms Iffat Faqir Mohammad Shaheed (Multan), Mst Khadija Zuberi, next of kin (widow) of Mr Fazal Mahmood Zuberi Shaheed (Karachi), Mst Jamila Tanvir, next of kin (widow) of Tanvir Anwar Khan Shaheed (Wah Cantt), Mst Shehnaz Ilyas, next of kin (widow) of Syed Muhammad Ilyas Shaheed (Karachi), Maula Dad Khan, next of kin (father) of Fakhrul Hassan Khan Shaheed (Karachi), Mst Nasreen Akhtar, next of kin (widow) of Muhammad Sarwar Shaheed (Lahore), Mrs. Nargis Bibi, next of kin (mother) of Asad Shah Nawaz Shaheed (Quetta), Mst Nazia Tariq, next of kin (widow) of Tariq Masood Shaheed (Faisalabad), Mst Aafia Hafeez, next of kin (widow) of Hafeez-ur-Rehman Shaheed (Haripur), Mst Nighat Perveen, next of kin (widow) of Abdul Malik Shaheed (Rahim Yar Khan), Mst Shazia Parveen, next of kin (widow) of Ghulam Murtaza Shaheed (AJ&K), Mst Rukhsana Begum, next of kin (widow) of Muhammad Azam Hussain Shaheed (Toba Tek Singh), Mst Shazia Bibi, next of kin (widow) of Muhammad Hayat Shaheed (Khanewal), Mst Farzana Jumman, next of kin (widow) of Muhammed Jumman Abbasi Shaheed (Sindh), Mst Zubaida Bibi, next of kin (widow) of Muntazir Shah Shaheed (Nowshera), Mst Feroza Iqbal, next of kin (widow) of Muhammad Iqbal Shaheed (Nawabshah), Mst Tahira Gulshan, next of kin (widow) of Muhammad Sajjad Shaheed (Karachi), Naseer Ahmed (Sahiwal), Ali Akbar Tunio (Dadu), Atta-ur-Rehman (Rawalpindi), Abid Hussain Rahi (Bhakkar), Syed Ghulam Mustafa Shah (AJ&K), Ahmad Jamal Khan (Sindh), Muhammad Pervez (Gujranwala), Faheem Mazhar (Rawalpindi), Muhammad Afzaal (Sheikhupura), Akhtar Hussain (Gujranwala), Ghulam Hussain (Sindh), retired Major Attique Arshad (Lahore Cantt), Amir Mujahid Khan (Lahore), Raja Mustafa Ali (Karachi), Muhammad Ali Qasmi (Karachi), Muhammad Shakeel (Karachi), Waqar Sultan (Karachi), Sher Khan (Gilgit-Baltistan), Ghulam Sarwar (Gilgit-Baltistan), Aasam Mukhtar Chaudhry (Islamabad) and Rai Azhar Hussain (Islamabad).

TAMGHA-I-IMTIAZ was presented to Dato’ Haji Abdul Rafique bin Abdul Karim (Islamabad), Gerard Chauvel (France), Dr Safia Ahmed (Islamabad), Dr Riffat Naseem Malik (Islamabad), Prof Dr Atiya Syed (Lahore), Qurban Ali Niazi (Islamabad) and Haji Daraz Khan (the UAE).

Published in Dawn, March 24th, 2016



UAE targeted
Updated 19 Jan, 2022

UAE targeted

MONDAY’S deadly drone strikes by Yemen’s Houthi rebels targeting the UAE, and subsequent retaliatory attacks on...
19 Jan, 2022

New province debate

THE private bill introduced by a PML-N senator seeking a new province in south Punjab amounts to oversimplification...
19 Jan, 2022

Omicron in Karachi

WITH the wedding season in full swing, it is no surprise that the Covid positivity rate in Karachi has been touching...
The establishment pivot
18 Jan, 2022

The establishment pivot

It is a sad reality that the power matrix continues to revolve around the establishment.
18 Jan, 2022

Remittances growth

THE hefty growth in remittances from Pakistanis living abroad continues to defy forecasts to the contrary. New State...
18 Jan, 2022

China-Iran deal

THE China-Iran strategic deal that has recently taken effect is more than just a long-term bilateral agreement...