Team Pakistan bags gold at regional tech awards

23 Nov 2015


Team Pakistan won three gold awards and one silver award. ─ Photo Courtesy: P@SHA
Team Pakistan won three gold awards and one silver award. ─ Photo Courtesy: P@SHA

COLOMBO: A team representing Pakistan at the Asia Pacific ICT Awards (APICTA) 2015 won three gold awards and one silver award at the ceremony held in Colombo, Sri Lanka, the Pakistan Software Houses Association for IT & ITES (P@SHA) announced on Saturday.

Leading the way with the gold were the teams from Eyedeus Labs for their new product "Ingrain", Evamp & Sanga for their 'Mobile Audio Streaming Service' and students from the National University of Sciences and Technology (NUST) College of Electrical and Mechanical Engineering for their research project "Active and Intelligent Powered Ankle Foot Prosthesis for Transtibial Amputees".

Silver was awarded to a very young team from The Nest i/o – P@SHA’s technology incubator in Karachi for their project "Teddict".

The Sri Lankan Minister for Telecom and Digital Infrastructure was in attendance at the ceremony and the Pakistan High Commissioner Major General (retd) Syed Shakeel Hussain in Sri Lanka was present alongside Team Pakistan.

This year’s P@SHA delegation comprising 50 members with 22 technology products competed for the prestigious APICTA Awards, facing off against 184 products from 17 economies in the region.

APICTA, the Asia Pacific ICT Award was founded in 2001 by three initiators ─ APICTA Australia, Malaysia Super Corridor Initiative and ASPILUKI (The Indonesia Telematics Software Association) of Indonesia. Participants of the awards program comprise members of the Asia Pacific ICT Alliance APICTA, the award's website says.

They are guided by a Framework of Cooperation governing how member-economies work together in support of the awards programme as well as other initiatives fostering development and growth of the ICT industry in the region.

APICTA’s 17 member-economies include Australia, Brunei, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Korea, Macao, Malaysia, Myanmar, Pakistan, People's Republic of China, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam.