Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


ISLAMABAD: The Higher Education Commission (HEC) has removed names of six academics, found guilty of plagiarism, from its list of approved PhD supervisors.

“Today, we informed their universities that these scholars are no longer HEC approved supervisors,” said Ayesha Ikram, a spokesperson for the HEC.

A PhD supervisor is responsible for guiding doctorate candidates in productive and ethical research and helping them in their professional careers.

However, there were six HEC approved supervisors who were also in the HEC’s list of plagiarist, blacklisted scholars.   

Interestingly, both the list of HEC’s declared blacklisted scholars and HEC approved PhD supervisors were available on HEC website until Monday.

The ‘scholars’ whose names were on both lists include Abdul Quddus Suhaib of Islamic Studies Department at Bahauddin Zakaria University Multan, Imdad Ali Ismaili, of the Institute of Information Technology, University of Sindh, Jamshoro; Dr Sher of the Computer Science Department at International Islamic University (IIUI) Islamabad and Dr Niaz Muhammad of Islamia College University Peshawar.

 According to sources, the Quality Assurance Department (QAD) had been trying to take visible action to punish plagiarists but their concerned universities and the HEC appeared reluctant to take adequate action.  

The HEC claimed to have repeatedly contacted the universities of these blacklisted scholars to ask them to take adequate action against these blacklisted scholars according to the plagiarism policy.

When the universities failed to take action, the HEC decided to take away the benefits, travel grants, research grants and teaching awards from these blacklisted scholars.

An HEC official requesting anonymity said that 23 academics have been blacklisted by the HEC on charges of plagiarism. However, all of them continue to hold positions in the universities.

These include Dr Jalaluddin Noori from University of Karachi, Dr Abdul Quddus Suhaib from Bahauddin Zakaria University, Dr Abdul Sattar, Muhammad Aslam Kamboh and Muhammad Aslam Chaudhry from University of Sindh, Jamshoro, Dr Nisar, Dr Saleemur Rehman, Dr Niaz Muhammad and Dr Javed Badsha of Islamic College University, Peshawar, Dr Azhar Ali Shah and Dr Imdad Ismaili, University of Sindh Jamshoro, Dr Muhammad Sher, International Islamic University; M. Hassan, S. Nadeem, K. Khalique and I. Parveen of Government College University Faislabad, Dr Shamraz Firdous, Dr Mushtaq Ahmed, Dr Muhammad Nawaz and Dr Masroor Ikram of Pakistan Institute of Engineering & Applied Sciences.

Published in Dawn March 25th , 2015

On a mobile phone? Get the Dawn Mobile App: Apple Store | Google Play