Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


BAHAWALPUR: Election tribunal headed by retired district and sessions judge Abdul Hafez on Wednesday ordered recounting of the votes at seven polling stations and of the counterfoils of 60 polling stations in NA-188.

The tribunal issued the order while accepting the plea of defeated candidate Akhtar Khadim against MNA Syed Asghar Shah.

Meanwhile, the Election Commission, on the request of Bahawalpur election tribunal, appointed a commission to conduct the vote recount. The commission to be headed by retired district and sessions judge Chaudhry Muhammad Islam will have to submit its vote recount report by June 26. There were total 254 polling stations in the NA-188.

The tribunal ordered petitioner Akhtar Khadim to deposit a sum of Rs0.3 million as recounting fee within three days.— Correspondent

Published in Dawn, June 12th, 2014