Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Former Sindh Chief Minister Arbab Ghulam Rahim— File Photo

BADIN: Shirazis of Thatta and Arbabs of Tharparkar have decided to join Pakistan Muslim League - Nawaz (PML- N).

Shirazis of Thatta district after winning four provincial and one National Assembly seat from Thatta district, have reportedly decided to join PML- N.

A delegation of PML- N led by Rana Mashood and Chuadhry Jaafar Iqbal held talks with head of Shirazi- Malkani group, Syed Shafqat Hussain Shah Shirazi in Karachi, during which, Shirazis agreed to join PML- N both in Center and Sindh Assembly.

The victorious candidates joining the PML-N include Syed Ayaz Shah Shirazi from NA-238,  Syed Amir Haider Shah, Syed Shah Hussain Shah from PS-87, Mr Mohammad Ali Malkani from PS-87 and Syed Aijaz Shah Shirazi from PS-84 and PS-85.

The well known and influential Sherazi brothers of Thatta had earlier decided to quit Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) and contest elections as independent candidates  in April this year. Speaking about their collective decision at a press conference held in Thatta, Shafqat Shah Sherazi said they were “disappointed” by the behaviour of PPP top cadre towards its workers.

According to reports, the decision came after PPP nominated Awais Muzaffar Tappi on PS-88 Ghorabari seat.

The same day, Ghulam Qadir Malkani, from Thatta also announced quitting PPP and joining forces with the Sherazi group.

Moreover the PML-N delegation also met with former chief minister Sindh and chief of Pakistan Muslim League - Likeminded group, Dr Arbab Ghulam Rahim.

Nephew of Arbab Ghulam Rahim, Arbab Naimatullah, talking to media persons in Mithi town said that his group would support PML- N.

Here it is pertinent to note that Arbabs of Tharparkar so far have won one provincial seat PS-60 Diplo. While the results of PS-62, PS-63, NA-229 and NA-230 have not been announced.

In these four constituencies re-polling is expected on number of the polling stations due to rigging allegations by different contesting candidates and parties.