Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Pervez Khattak elected CM Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Updated May 31, 2013


A view of the KP Assembly in session.—Photo by INP
A view of the KP Assembly in session.—Photo by INP

PESHAWAR: Pervez Khattak of Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaaf (PTI) was elected to the post of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa's chief minister on Friday.

Khattak secured 84 votes in the election and Maulana Lutfur Rehman of Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) garnered 37 votes.

Wajihuzzaman of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), who was a candidate for the post, withdrew his nomination at the last minute in favour of the JUI-F candidate.

The process of voting for the position was held under the leadership of Speaker KP Assembly Asad Qaisar.

Governor Shaukatullah will administer the oath of office to Khattak at the Governor’s House in the evening.

Earlier on Thursday, PTI candidates Asad Qaisar and Imtiaz Shahid Qureshi were elected speaker and deputy speaker of the KP Assembly unopposed after the opposition parties withdrew from the contest.