Altaf revamps MQM’s organisational setup

Published May 27, 2013
Workers and supporters of MQM listen to Altaf Hussain’s speech in Karachi. – Photo courtesy
Workers and supporters of MQM listen to Altaf Hussain’s speech in Karachi. – Photo courtesy

KARACHI: Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) chief Altaf Hussain on Sunday night announced names of the party’s new office bearers in the wake of mismanagement and ‘hooliganism’ reported during Hussain’s speeches after the May 11 general elections, DawnNews reported.

Speaking to the party’s workers via telephone from London at MQM’s headquarters Nine-Zero in Karachi’s Azizabad, he named the new 23-member Rabita (Coordinating) Committee and 10-member Karachi Tanzeemi (Organising) Committee.

The MQM chief reiterated that the party follows a policy of ‘no tolerance’ when it comes to organisational discipline. “There is no room for violators of party discipline,” he added.

According to Hussain’s announcement, Dr Nusrat, Engineer Nasir Jamal and Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui have been nominated as new deputy conveners of the party’s Rabita Committee in Karachi.

Nadeem Nusrat has been appointed deputy convener of the committee’s London chapter while Nadeem Ahsan has replaced Hammad Siddiqui as in-charge of MQM’s Karachi Tanzeemi Committee (KTC).

Salim Shehzad, Raza Haroon and Asif Siddiqui – former members of Rabita Committee – have not been included in the new committee. They will, however, continue to perform their duties as party workers, MQM’s official website reported.

Amir Khan, Yousuf Shehwani, Nisar Pehnor, Dr Saghir Ahmed, Kunwar Naveed Jamil, Adil Khan, Khalid Sultan, Aslam Afridi, Mian Ateeq, Wasay Jalil and Mumtaz Anwar have managed to cement a place in the new Karachi Rabita Committee.

Members of London Rabita Committee include Mustafa Azizabadi, Mohammad Anwar, Mohammad Ashfaq, Tariq Javed, Tariq Mir and Qasim Ali Raza.

Arshad Kamali will assume his duties as joint-secretary of the KTC while Ayaz Haider, Hafiz Mohammad Suhail and Abbas Ali will serve as its members.

Meanwhile, Dr Farooq Sattar will be the in-charge of the party’s five-member international relations and diplomatic affairs committee. Other members of the new committee are Senator Mustafa Kamal, Nasreen Jalil, Kunwar Khalid Younus and Haider Abbas Rizvi.

The MQM chief has also nominated Sattar as the party’s parliamentary leader in the National Assembly.

Moreover, the party workers have been advised to cut-off all contacts with former Rabita Committee member Anis Ahmed Advocate.

Speaking to party activists on Saturday, Hussain had said that the complete reorganisation of the Rabita Committee and other departments of the MQM would require fifteen days to a month but names of some vital members will be announced on Sunday in the General Workers’ Meeting.



Updated 28 May, 2022

POL price shock

The state must look into exactly how much of an impact POL hikes have had on the prices of everyday items.
28 May, 2022

Changed laws

THERE will be much noise made over bills passed in the last two days by parliament to amend election and National...
28 May, 2022

Causing damage

FORMER prime minister Imran Khan’s remarks that he called off his protest, not because he had reached a deal but...
27 May, 2022

After the march

FORMER prime minister Imran Khan either ‘ran away’ from Islamabad or made a temporary, strategic retreat. It...
A tough decision
Updated 27 May, 2022

A tough decision

Decision to raise fuel prices will remove a major hitch of concluding a staff-level agreement with IMF.
27 May, 2022

Xinjiang files

QUESTIONS about the status of the Muslim Uighur people in China’s Xinjiang autonomous region often arise, with...