Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Gul Sahib youngest MPA-elect

May 16, 2013


PESHAWAR, May 15: Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf MPA-elect from PK-40, Karak-I, Gul Sahib Khan Khattak, is the youngest lawmaker among the 99 members who returned to the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly as a result of 2013 general election.

Born on April 1, 1987 in Sabirabad, Karak, Mr Khattak received his early education in Kohat and qualified his intermediate examination from PAF Degree College, Kohat. He received his BA degree from Islamia College, Peshawar.

Gul Sahib, who defeated experienced political leaders and former lawmakers, polled 24,737 votes against his closest rival former provincial ministers Mian Nisar Gul Kakakhel and PML-N leader Fareed Toofan.

Of the 59 new faces, who have made it to the provincial assembly for the first time in 2013 general election, Gul Sahib is the youngest lawmaker-elect. Tufail Anjum, who has won the election on PTI ticket from PK-29, Mardan-VII, was born in 1985.

Another MPA-elect Babar Khan, who has won the election from the platform of Awami Jamhoori Ittehad Pakistan (AJIP), was born on January 1, 1983.

He won the election with a thumping majority against his closest rival Gul Zamin Shah of Awami National Party.

The electorates believe that Gul Sahib would be given a portfolio in the new cabinet, which would boost the youth’s spirit.