snooker, mohammad asif, world snooker championship
Mohammad Asif. -File photo

KARACHI: Some 42 cueists representing 17 nations, including 34 foreigners, will feature in the Jubilee Insurance 29th Asian snooker championship which runs at hotel Sheraton from April 27 to May 3.

The list, a copy of which was secured by Dawn, includes world champion Mohammad Asif, former world No 2 Saleh Mohammad (Afghanistan) and ex-Asian No 2 Mohammad Sajjad.

The 17 nations that have confirmed their participation and send entries were Afghanistan, China, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Mangolia, Philippines, Qatar, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Syria, Thailand and the UAE besides Pakistan.

The last date for submission of entries closed on Sunday.

According to president of Pakistan Billiards and Snooker Federation (PBSF), Alamgir Shaikh, a number of dignitaries will also be coming to Pakistan.

These included president of the International Billiards and Snooker Federation (IBSF) Jim Leasy, IBSF secretary Kamah, Asian Confederation of Billiards Sports (ACBS) president Hani H. D. Khoury (Jordan), ACBS secretary Mubarak Hamad Al Khayarin (Qatar), Iranian Federation president Hashem Eskandari Rad, Sri Lankan Federation president Shafeek Rajabdeen and Syrian Federation president Michil Al Khouri.

The PBSF chief said brisk preparations were afoot to stage the spectacle in a befitting way.

He also called upon the federal and provincial governments and security agencies concerned to extend support in making the event a success.

He said a 10-day camp for Pakistani cueists, top seven of the national ranking and world champion Mohammad Asif, will commence in the city on April 15.

Squads: Saleh Mohammad, Mohammad Rais Senzai (Afghanistan); Zhao Xintong, Wang Yuchen (China); Fung Kwok Wai, Lee Chun Wai (Hong Kong); Manan Chandra, Brijesh Damani (India); Soheil Vahedi, Ehsan Heydarinezhad, Mohammad Lababi (Iran); Ali Jalil Ali, Husein Jaffer Hadi (Iraq); Ammar M. T. GH Taqi, Hussain Ali A Al-Awadhi (Kuwait); Ulziitogtokh Davaasuren, Khash-Ochir Tuvshinjargal (Mangolia); Michael Angelo G. Mengorio, Rodolfo Diaz Lordan JR (Philippines); Ahmed Saif, Mohsen A Azizi Bukshaisha (Qatar); Lim Chun Kiat (Marvin), Ang Boon Chin (Tommy) (Singapore); Hang Sang Hee, Hwang Chulho (South Korea); Susantha Boteju, Ryan Somarathne (Sri Lanka); Karam Fatima, Omar Al Kojah (Syria); Yuttapop Pakpoj, Boonyarit Kaettikun, Ratchayothin Yotharuck (Thailand); Mohammad Shehab, Mohammad Al Joakar (UAE); Hamza Akbar, Imran Shehzad, Mohammad Sajjad, Abdul Sattar, Baber Masih, Shahid Aftab, Abu Saim, Mohammad Asif (Pakistan).

More From This Section

Shahnaz, Manzoor Junior likely to get head coach, chief selector

Olympians Islahuddin and Shahbaz Senior are also expected to be inducted into the PHF Executive Board.

Wounded Barca face Ronaldo-less Real in Copa final

VALENCIA (Spain): A week ago, Barcelona still had a chance of repeating the historic treble of 2009 but defeats in...

Pacer Johnson may quit limited-overs games to extend Test

SYDNEY: Australia Mitchell Johnson may quit limited-overs cricket to prolong his Test career with an eye on the 2015...

‘Club v country’ debate comes to Pakistan

It is an issue very common in the world of football. And now, it has come to Pakistan.

Comments are closed.
Explore: Indian elections 2014
Explore: Indian elections 2014
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
Front Page