26 January, 2015 / 30 Rabi-ul-Awwal, 1436

-File Photo

ISLAMABAD: In a communiqué addressed to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), the Higher Education Commission (HEC) has submitted the names of 54 former members of parliament and provincial assemblies with fake degrees, DawnNews reported late on Friday night.

According to the HEC letter sent to the election commission, Akhunzada Chataan, Samina Khawar Hayat, Ghulam Dastagir and Wasim Afzal Gondal have all been proven to have fake degrees.

Nasir Ali Shah, Mir Badshah Qaisarani, Seemal Kamran and Shumaila Rana also have fake degrees while the degrees of Israrullah Zehri and Umar Gorgage are not recognised.

The HEC also submitted the names of 180 members who have not submitted their Matric and/or Intermediate certificates to the ECP. These politicians include Khurshid Shah, Chaudhary Nisar, Bushra Gauhar and Faisal Saleh Hayat. Afrasiyab Khattak, Javed Hashmi, Samsam Bukhari have also not submitted in their certificates.

Meanwhile the names of Imtiaz Safdar Warraich and Qasim Zia have been categorised as among those with non-verifiable degrees.

Do you have information you wish to share with Dawn.com? You can email our News Desk to share news tips, reports and general feedback. You can also email the Blog Desk if you have an opinion or narrative to share, or reach out to the Special Projects Desk to send us your Photos, or Videos.

More From This Section

Comments (0) Closed