Dawn News

Jamal Khattak elected VP of SCBA unopposed from KP

Outgoing President of Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA) Yasin Azad addressing press conference on October 30. — Photo by INP

PESHAWAR: Jamal Khattak was elected unopposed on the provincial Vice president's seat from Khyber Pakhtunkhwah during the annual election of the Supreme Court Bar Association for the year 2012-13 which began on Wednesday, DawnNews reported.

As many as 2,592 eligible voters will cast vote at the polling stations set up in Karachi, Islamabad, Lahore, Hyderabad, Quetta, Peshawar, Abbotabad, Multan and Bahawalpur.

The polling process began at 9am and will end at 5pm with one-hour lunch and prayer break from 1pm to 2pm.

Earlier reportes stated three contenders, Ahmed Awais, Mian Israrul Haq and Zafarullah Khan, vying for president’s slot, while nine were vying for four seats of vice president from all provinces.

They include Muhammad Riaz Khan Swati and Abdullah Kakar from Balochistan, Jamal Khattak and Muhammad Arif Khan from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Muhammad Tahir Chaudhry and Rana Naeem Sarwar from Punjab, Abbas Ali, Ainuddin Khan and Syed Jamil Ahmed from Sindh.

Email news tips and feedback to News Desk, submit blogs to Blog Desk and share photos and Videos with Special Projects Desk.

Comments (0) Closed