Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


JI lists 46 candidates for NA, 90 for PA seats

March 28, 2013

PESHAWAR, March 27: Jamaat-i-Islami has nominated 46 candidates for contesting election to the National Assembly seats from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and tribal areas, and 90 contenders for the provincial assembly constituencies.

JI’s provincial general secretary Shabir Ahmad Khan announced names of the candidates at a press conference here on Wednesday.

Asif Luqman Qazi, son of late Qazi Hussain Ahmad, has been allotted ticket for NA seat from Nowshera. He will also try his luck on a provincial assembly seat.

According to the list, Shabir Ahmad Khan will contest elections from NA-1, Dr Mohammad Iqbal Khalil NA-2, Israrullah advocate NA-3, Sabir Hussain Awan NA-4, Asif Luqman Qazi NA-5, Merajuddin Khan NA-6, Arshad Khan NA-7, Maulana Abdul Mustaan NA-8, Attaur Rehman advocate NA-9, Maulana Sultan Mohammad NA-10, Gul Nawaz Khan NA-11, Mohammad Usman advocate NA-12, Ameer Nawaz advocate NA-13, Pir Mohammad Fahim NA-14, Maulana Tasleem Iqbal NA-15 and Mohammad Aslam NA-16.

From Hazara region the party gave tickets to Habibur Rehman Abbasi NA-17, Waheed Akhtar Tanoli NA-18, Ghulam Nabi advocate NA-19, Mohammad Younas Khattak NA-20, Maulana Abdul Malik NA-21, Nisar Ahmad Khan NA-22 and Maulana Noorul Haq NA-23. From southern districts Zahid Mohibullah advocate will contest from NA-24, Prof Mohammad Ibrahim NA-26 and Prof Sher Ghulam NA-27. The NA-25 Tank constituency has been left vacant because JUI-F chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman has filed nomination papers from the same constituency.

From Malakand division Sher Akbar Khan advocate has been allotted ticket for NA-28, Akhtar Ali Khan NA-29, Fazal Subhan NA-30, Hakeem Waliullah NA-31, Maulana Abdul Akbar Chitrali NA-32, Sahibzada Tariqullah NA-33, Sahibzada Mohammad Yaqoob NA-34 and Syed Bakhtiar Maani NA-35.

The party has fielded candidates on all 12 NA seats from Fata. According to the list, Mohammad Saeed Khan has been given ticket from NA-36, Hikmat Khan Hikmatyar NA-37, Saleem Khan NA-38, Raj Mohammad Orakzai NA-39, Malik Mashal Khan NA-40, Abdur Rehman NA-41, Dr Samiullah Jan NA-42, Sahibzada Haroonur Rasheed NA-43, Sardar Khan NA-44, Zarnoor Afridi NA-45, Shah Faisal Afridi NA-46 and Mohammad Rasool NA-47.

Names of candidates for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly are: Behrullah advocate PK-1, Sirajuddin Qureshi PK-2, Khalid Gul Mohmand PK-3, Riaz Bacha PK-4, Mian Anwar Syed PK-5, Kashif Azam KP-6, Hafiz Hashmat Khan KP-7, Fazlullah Daudzai PK-8, Hamdullah Jan PK-9, Barrister Javid Mohmand PK-10, Khalid Waqar Chamkani PK-11, PK-12 Nowshera (left vacant), Hanif Khan PK-13, Asif Luqman Qazi PK-14, Merajuddin Khan PK-15, Inayatur Rehman PK-16, Misbahullah PK-17, Akbar Khan PK-18, Pir Masood Jan PK-19, Haji Samiullah PK-20, Qari Shah Hussain PK-21, Qari Shafiullah PK-22, Saeed Akhtar PK-23, Anwar Baig PK-24, Abdus Salam PK-25, Mian Nadir Shah PK-26, Fazal Rabbani advocate PK-27, Azimuddin PK-28, Ibrahim Buland PK-29, Amjad Ali Khan PK-30, Mufti Mohammad Ahmad PK-31, Mushtaq Ahmad Khan PK-32, Mahmoodul Hassan PK-33, Mohammad Amin PK-34, Riaz Ali Shah PK-35 and Saeedzada Yousufzai PK-36, Malak Zafar Awan PK-37, Mohammad Abid PK-38, Dr Iqbal Fana PK-39, Maulana Samiur Rehman PK-40, Mehboob Ilahi PK-44, Saeed Ahmad Abbasi PK-45, Pir Khan Tanoli PK-46, Abdul Waheed Jadoon PK-47, Abdur Razaq Abbasi PK-48, Ghazan Iqbal PK-50, Lal Hussain Shah PK-51, Akhtar Zaman PK-52, Tariq Sherazi PK-53, Mohammad Ashraf PK-54, Khan Afzal advocate PK-55, Khalid Khan advocate PK-56, Mohammad Siddique PK-57, Khadim Hussain Shah PK-58, Anwar Baig PK-59, Maulana Jehanzeb PK 60, Haji Saleem PK-61, Miraj Khan PK-62, Zahid Mohibullah PK-64, Hafiz Mohammad Ramzan PK-66, Abdur Rasheed Gandapur PK-67, Abdur Rauf PK-68, Prof Mohammad Ibrahim PK-70, Mohammad Yousuf PK-72, Mufti Siffatullah PK-73, Maulana Irfan Shah PK-74, Dr Matiullah PK-75, Malak Latifullah PK-76, Jamshed Khan PK-77, Habibur Rehman PK-78, Bakht Jehan Khan PK-79, Mohammad Amin PK-80, Riaz Ahmad PK-81, Rafiullah PK-82, Hussain Ahmad Kanju PK-83, Khaista Bacha PK-84, Habibullah Saqib PK-85, Fazal Ghafoor PK-86, Fida Mohammad advocate PK-87, Syed Ghafar advocate PK-88, Maulana Sher Aziz PK-89, Maulana Ghulam Mohammad PK-90, Inayatullah Khan PK-91, Mohammad Ali PK-92, Malak Behram PK-93, Muzaffar Syed PK-94, Sirajul Haq PK-95, Saeed Gul PK-96, Syed Sultan Yar PK-97, Maulana Jamaluddin PK-98 and Shahraz Khan PK-99.

The JI had boycotted previous general election held in February 2008. However, it took part in by-elections. The JI had contested elections from the platform of Muttahida Majlis-i-Amal in 2002 and for the first time won maximum seats.